U.S. Energy Law: Electricity
The focus of this guide is the federal regulation of electricity.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Full Text Law Reviews & Journals
The databases listed below contain full-text legal articles. For additional guidance on how to search these resources, consult the Journal Articles Research guide.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields.
Tip: To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links, add "George Washington University," and "Save."
- HeinOnline: Law Journal LibraryRetrospective and current full text law journals, including bar journals.
- Lexis: Law Reviews and Journals
- Westlaw: Law Reviews & Journals
- Digital Commons Network: Law CommonsFree, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
- SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkComposed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, making available scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
Indexes to the Legal Literature
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)A weekly current-awareness index to law reviews/journals. Citations only.
- Legal SourceIndexes full-text legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, and university publications including book reviews and case studies.
- LegalTracIndex of articles in law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers.
Interdisciplinary Databases
GW Gelman Library provides access to numerous subject databases that can be used to locate articles on energy law & policy, science, technology, engineering, and related topics. To locate a non-law or law-related journal online, click on "Journal Title" and type the title of the journal in the search box.
Recommended Starting Points:
- Academic Search CompleteProvides citations, with some full text, to scholarly, multi-disciplinary journal articles.
- ProQuest CentralCovers the journal literature across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, education, science and technology, and humanities.
Other Subject Databases:
- ABI/Inform Complete PlusCovers business and industry-specific topics. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Business Source UltimateProvides citations with selected full text to articles from scholarly business journals.
- EconLitCovers the economic literature in scholarly journals (including book reviews), books, dissertations, and working papers. Published by the American Economic Association.
- FactivaProvides access to articles from newspapers and other business, financial and company publications.
- GreenFILEIncludes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, on the environment and related disciplines. Some full text included.
- GEOBASE (Engineering Village)Indexes the research literature on earth sciences and related disciplines, such as geology and alternative energy sources,
- Military & Government CollectionProvides current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
- Web of Science (WOS)Includes several citation indices covering research journals in the sciences and social sciences. Permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).
Related Guides
- Journal Articles Research(GW Law Library)
- Bluebook and Citation Resources(GW Law Library)
- Energy Law Journal Style Manual (Rev. 01-2023)(Energy Bar Association)