U.S. Energy Law: Electricity
The focus of this guide is the federal regulation of electricity.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Germaine Leahy
About Electricity
-
Electricity Explained: Electricity Delivery to Consumers(U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA))
-
Electricity Explained: Electricity and the Environment(U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA))
-
Electric utilities 101: A Breakdown of the Basics on US Power Providers (Oct. 12, 2022)(Canary Media)
-
2024 Energy Primer: A Handbook of Energy Market Basics(Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Office of Energy Policy and Innovation)
-
Electricity(U.S. Dept. of Energy: Energy Information Administration (EIA))
Provides recent industry data, analysis and projections. -
The Renewables and Wholesale Electricity Prices (ReWEP) Tool(U.S. Dept. of Energy, Berkeley Lab)
Compares pricing trends across locations, regions, and a number of different time frames. These comparisons illustrate the ongoing interactions between wind and solar generation and wholesale energy prices.
Study Aids
The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
-
Energy Law in a Nutshell, 4th ed.
by
Chapters cover energy economics, energy policy, the administration of energy law, energy decision-making, oil, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear power, hydropower, clean and net-zero energy, and a just transition. -
Energy, Economics and the Environment, 6th ed.
by
Focuses on the unifying characteristics of energy law, while also emphasizing its connections to environmental and economic issues affecting energy industries. -
2024 Energy Primer: A Handbook of Energy Market Basics
(Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), Office of Energy Policy and Innovation)
"This primer is written to be used either as a traditional text – read front to back – or as a reference guide." -
Electricity Regulation In the US: A Guide, 2d ed.
by
(The Regulatory Assistance Project)
A basic guide to electricity regulation in the U.S. -
FERC: Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 2d ed.
by
A practical guide to the policies, regulation, and procedures of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.
Glossaries
-
Electricity Regulation in the U.S.: A Guide(Regulatory Assistance Project (RAP))
Glossary begins on pg. 176. -
Glossary of Terms Used in NERC Reliability Standards(North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC))