GW Law Library: Library Guides: U.S. Energy Law: Electricity: Court Decisions

Federal & State Court Decisions

Court Cases
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC))
Supreme Court of the United States Research
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library)
A guide to finding U.S. Supreme Court decisions.
Utilities Law Reporter
- This link opens in a new window
(Wolters Kluwer's VitalLaw database)
Case Law
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library)
A guide to finding federal and state court decisions.
State Court Websites
- This link opens in a new window
(National Center for State Courts (NCSC)
Provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.

Federal Court Dockets:

Bloomberg Law: Dockets Search
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full coverage of federal court dockets. Documents currently available through the database are pulled from PACER. Any document that requires a court runner is not accessible for students or faculty through the database.
CourtLink (Dockets)
- This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of federal court dockets. Search for full text documents and set up alerts.
U.S. Supreme Court: Docket Search
- This link opens in a new window
Contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term.
Westlaw: Federal Dockets
- This link opens in a new window
Contains dockets filed in United States District Courts from 2000, United States Courts of Appeal from 1997, United States Bankruptcy Courts, and United States Supreme Court from 2000.

State Court Dockets:

Coverage of state dockets in subscription databases is limited. Some court websites provide free access to their dockets.

Bloomberg Law
- This link opens in a new window
Selective state coverage; includes the District of Columbia.
Westlaw: State Dockets
- This link opens in a new window
Selective state coverage; includes the District of Columbia.
CourtLink: Dockets
- This link opens in a new window
Selective state coverage; includes the District of Columbia.
State Materials
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library)
Links to sources for state court dockets.

Bluebook and Citation Resources
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library)
Energy Law Journal Style Manual (Rev. 01-2023)
- This link opens in a new window
(Energy Bar Association)

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)