U.S. Energy Law: Electricity
The focus of this guide is the federal regulation of electricity.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Practice Centers
The following databases contain federal and state laws, regulations, court and agency decisions, as well as selected secondary sources, such as treatises, handbooks and other publications.
-
Lexis: Energy & Utilities Law
-
Westlaw: Energy & Environment
-
PLIPlus: EnergyPractising Law Institute's eBook platform for its course handbooks, treatises, answer books, legal forms, and program transcripts.
-
VitalLaw: Utilities Law Reporter
Laws & Compiled Legislative Histories
-
Federal Power Act, ch. 285, 41 Stat. 1063 (1920), 16 U.S.C. §§791a et seq.
-
Public Utility Act of 1935, ch. 687, 49 Stat. 803 (1935), 16 U.S.C. §§791a et seq.
- Legislative History
-
Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935 (PUHCA), ch. 687, 49 Stat. 803 (1935), 15 U.S.C. §§79 et seq.Title I of the Public Utility Act of 1935 is known as the "Public Utility Holding Company Act of 1935 (PUHCA)." The Energy Policy Act of 2005 (EPAct) repealed Public Utility Holding Company Act 1935.
- Legislative History
-
Natural Gas Act, ch. 556, 52 Stat. 821 (1938), 15 U.S.C. §§717 et seq.
- Legislative History
-
Department of Energy Organization Act, Pub. L. No. 95–91, title IV, § 401, 91 Stat. 565 (1977), 42 U.S.C. §§7171-7178
- Legislative History
-
Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA), Pub.L. No. 95–617, 92 Stat. 3117 (1978), (codified in scattered sections of 7 U.S.C., 15 U.S.C., 16 U.S.C., 30 U.S.C., 42 U.S.C., and 43 U.S.C.)
- Legislative History
-
Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-621, 92 Stat. 3350 (1978), 15 U.S.C. §§3301 et seq.
- Legislative History
-
Energy Policy Act of 1992, Pub. L. No. 102-486, 106 Stat. 2776 (1992) (codified in scattered sections of 12 U.S.C., 16 U.S.C., 25 U.S.C., 26 U.S.C., 30 U.S.C., 42 U.S.C.)
- Legislative History
-
Energy Policy Act of 2005 (EPAct 2005), Pub. L. No. 109-58, 119 Stat. 594 (2005), (codified in scattered sections of 7 U.S.C., 10 U.S.C., 15 U.S.C., 16 U.S.C., 22 U.S.C., 26 U.S.C., 30 U.S.C., 40 U.S.C., 42 U.S.C.)
- Legislative History
-
Public Utility Holding Company Act of 2005 (PUHC 2005), Pub. L. No.109-58, §§1261-1277, 119 Stat. 972 (2005), 42 U.S.C. §15801 note, §§16451-16463The Energy Policy Act of 2005 (EPAct) repealed Public Utility Holding Company Act 1935 (administered by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)), thus revoking the SEC's authority to oversee mergers and other transactions of public utility holding companies. In EPAct, Congress adopted new language concerning regulation of holding companies. This new language is often referred to as the Public Utility Holding Company Act of 2005 (PUHCA 2005).
- Legislative History
-
Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Pub. L. No. 110–140, 121 Stat. 1492 (2007), 42 U.S.C. §§17001-17386
- Legislative History
-
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Recovery Act), Pub. L. No. 111-5, 123 Stat. 115 (2009), (codified in scattered sections of the U.S.C., see 26 U.S.C. §46, §48C and 42 U.S.C. §17384, §17386)Provided funding for a broad range of technologies in an effort to modernize the electric grid.
- Legislative History
-
Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 (IRA), Pub. L. 117-169, 136 Stat. 1818 (2022)The IRA contains provisions aimed at incentivizing increased development of electricity transmission infrastructure in the U.S. and includes provisions affecting energy use in the buildings sector.
- Legislative History
Congressional Research Service (CRS)
CRS research attorneys write concise, objective reports on current legislative issues.
The reports are periodically updated. To locate a CRS report or the most recent version of a CRS report, search:
- Bloomberg Law
- Congress.gov: CRS Reports
- HeinOnline
- ProQuest Congressional
Selected reports relating to electric utilities:
-
Advanced Lithium-Ion Energy Storage Battery Manufacturing in the United States (2025)
-
PJM’s Electric Capacity Market: Background and Current Issues (2025)
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
-
Energy & Natural ResourcesThe CBO provides independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to the U.S. Congress in the form of reports and cost estimates for proposed legislation.
Related Guides
-
Energy Law Journal Style Manual (Rev. 01-2023)(Energy Bar Association)