U.S. Energy Law: Electricity
The focus of this guide is the federal regulation of electricity.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Newsletters & Selected Journals
- Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists
This link opens in a new window
Articles discuss nuclear weapons and disarmament, climate change, growing energy demands, and disruptive technologies. - Canary Media
This link opens in a new window
Provides a free, online newsletter published under the auspices of Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) which chronicles the transition to a decarbonized economy and society, with a particular focus on the transformation of the primary energy, transportation, industrial, and building sectors. - The Conversation: Environment & Energy
- This link opens in a new window
An independent source of news, analysis and expert opinion, written by academics and researchers. The Associated Press distributes The Conversation US articles daily to thousands of newsrooms. - EBA Brief
- This link opens in a new window
(Energy Bar Association)
Features timely articles on energy-related legal or policy issues of interest to legal and energy professionals. - Electricity Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Covers energy, from coal, nuclear, natural gas and oil, and renewable energy sources including hydro, solar, geothermal and wind power. Also covered are emerging areas such as energy storage, microgrid strategies, dynamic pricing, cyber security, climate change, cap and trade, distributed generation, net metering, transmission, and generation market dynamics. - ELR: The Environmental Law Reporter: News & Analysis
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis and reporting on current developments in energy and environmental law. Published monthly. - Energy & Utilities Law News
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Energy Law Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Energy Bar Association) - Energy Policy
- This link opens in a new window
An international peer-reviewed journal addressing the policy implications of energy supply and use from their economic, social, planning and environmental aspects. - Environment & Energy (E & E) Online Publications
- This link opens in a new window
Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&ENews PM. - The Environmental Forum
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Environmental Law Institute (ELI)).
Presents diverse points of view and debate on current environmental law, policy and management issues in all sectors. - EPRI Journal
- This link opens in a new window
(Electric Power Research Institute)
Provides in-depth reporting on electricity sector R&D and industry and technology news. - The Foundation for Natural Resources and Energy Law Institutes
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(formerly: The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF) Annual & Special Institutes)
Each year, the Foundation publishes the papers delivered at the Annual Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Institute on cutting-edge legal issues related to mining, oil and gas, public lands, water, environmental, and international law. - The Foundation Journal for Natural Resources and Energy Law
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(formerly: The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF) Journal)
Contains articles covering oil and gas, mining, water, public lands, and environmental law. It also includes reprints of Foundation and law review articles. The spring volume’s Annual Oil & Gas Update covers judicial and legislative developments on a state-by-state basis. - George Washington Journal of Energy & Environmental Law (JEEL)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on scholarship at the intersection of energy and environmental law and is published by the George Washington University Law School as a supplement to the Environmental Law Institute's monthly Environmental Law Reporter News & Analysis journal. - IEEE Power and Energy Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
(Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE))
Focuses on advanced concepts, technologies, and practices associated with all aspects of electric power from a technical perspective in synergy with nontechnical areas such as business, environmental, and social concerns. - InsideClimate News
- This link opens in a new window
An independent, not-for-profit, non-partisan news organization that covers clean energy, carbon energy, nuclear energy and environmental science—plus the territory in between where law, policy and public opinion are shaped. - InsideEPA.com
- This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reporting on federal policy covering five areas: defense, trade, health care, energy, and the environment. News articles provide links to full text documents. - Law360
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization. - National Law Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-the-minute reporting on national and local legal news. Includes recent court decisions, jury verdicts, expert practitioner columns as well as reports focusing on emerging trends. - Nuclear Law Bulletin
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA))
Published twice a year in both English and French. Features topical articles written by legal experts. Covers nuclear legislative developments worldwide and reports on relevant case law, bilateral and international agreements and regulatory activities of international organizations. - Nuclear Townhall
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates news stories on nuclear energy from a variety of sources, including Associated Press, National Public Radio (NPR), Reuters and industry sources and newspapers. - OGEL: Oil, Gas & Energy Law Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Current scholarly and professional articles on global oil, gas and energy law topics. Article abstracts link to relevant websites and primary law documents. Coverage includes selected U.S. energy law topics. - Platts Inside N.R.C.
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on the regulation of commercial nuclear power and the political or technical issues and trends affecting nuclear power regulation. - Pratt's Energy Law Report
- This link opens in a new window
Articles focus on alternative and traditional energy law issues as well as the critical juncture where energy technologies and the environment intersect. - Utility DIVE
- This link opens in a new window
Provides news coverage of the utilities industry.
Alert Services
Some of the Law Library's journal and newsletter databases include "alert" features, which help users maintain awareness of current developments within a particular subject area.
- Bloomberg Law Email Registration
- This link opens in a new window
Email summaries are available for Bloomberg Law 's topical news reports. - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
- This link opens in a new window
With a "MyHein" account, users are able to save a search query on an "Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)" topic and when journal articles are added to IFLP under this subject, receive an e-mail alert. - Law360
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Daily email alerts available for each practice area.
Links embedded in email alerts only work when user is behind a Law School IP address. - Tax Analysts Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to "Tax Notes," "Tax Notes International," "State Tax Notes," "Exempt Organization Tax Review," "Tax Notes Today," "State Tax Today," "Worldwide Tax Daily," and "Highlights and Documents."
- Bloomberg Law
- This link opens in a new window
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- HeinOnline: Alerts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on how to set up different kinds of alerts in HeinOnline. - Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Blogs
To locate additional law blogs, search Justia BlawgSearch, Bloomberg Law, Lexis or Westlaw.
- Energy & the Law(Gray Reed)
- Energy Legal Blog
- This link opens in a new window
(Bracewell) - Legal Planet: The Environmental Law and Policy Blog
- This link opens in a new window
(UC Berkeley School of Law and UCLA School of Law) - Regulatory Assistance Project (RAP) Blog
- This link opens in a new window
- The Regulatory Review
- This link opens in a new window
(University of Pennsylvania Law School, Penn Program on Regulation) - Renewable + Law
- This link opens in a new window
(Stoel Rives)