Global & Comparative Environmental Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
JACOB and JACOB+
JACOB is the Law Library's catalog, which includes books and journals. Search JACOB to find books and journals -- not articles -- in the collection of the Jacob Burns Law Library.
JACOB+ includes the GW Law Library's catalog as well as other materials and selected articles to which the Library has access. Please note that JACOB+ does not include all content from every database to which the Library subscribes, nor does it include articles that law students have access through GW's Gelman or Himmelfarb libraries. We recommend that you also search directly in the relevant research databases (for example, HeinOnline, Bloomberg Law, Lexis, Westlaw) and consult our research guides.
Review our Tips for Searching to efficiently locate materials, including how to use the "Advanced Search" feature.
If you cannot find what you're looking for in JACOB, you may borrow items from the WRLC (Washington Research Library Consortium), place an Interlibrary Loan request, or suggest a purchase for the Law Library.
And be sure to Ask Us or visit us at the reference desk. We're here to help you succeed!
Search by Keyword
Useful keywords for searching within library catalogs, databases, and websites for information related to international and comparative environmental law include:
[Note: Using " " will search an exact phrase.]
-
"climate refugees"
-
"comparative environmental law"
-
compliance / enforcement
-
"constitutional environmental law"
-
"environmental governance"
-
"environmental impact assessment"
-
"environmental justice"
-
"environmental protection"
-
"environmental rights" / "human right to the environment"
-
"global environmental law"
-
"public trust doctrine"
-
"rights of nature"
-
"sustainable development"
-
"sustainable governance"
-
"transboundary pollution"
-
"wildlife crime" / "wildlife trafficking"
Search by Subject
Type a topic Into the JACOB search box and select "subject" (click on "Any Field" and select "Subject" from the drop-down options), or use the subject links below to locate materials on comparative environmental law issues.
Many of the headings below can be further subdivided by country or region. For example, Sustainable Development -- Law and Legislation -- China or Water Rights -- Asia.