Global & Comparative Environmental Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Titles Recently Acquired
Biodiversity and Climate: Tackling Global Footprints
Collected Documents of the Group of 77: Global Environmental Governance: Climate Change
Constitutionalism and Transnational Governance Failures
Corporate Accountability and Liability for Climate Change
The Future of Just Transitions: Theory and Implementation
Litigating Climate Change in the Global South
Non-Human Rights: Critical Perspectives
Research Handbook on Climate Change Litigation
Research Handbook on Environmental Crimes and Criminal Enforcement
Research Handbook on Sustainability and Competition Law
Responsibility for Environmental Damage
Routledge Handbook of Private Law and Sustainability
Sustainable Development, International Law, and a Turn to African Legal Cosmologies
Sustainable Finance and Climate Change: Law and Regulation
Towards a Zero-Emissions and Digitized Transport Sector: Law, Regulation, and Logistics
Water Justice and Groundwater Subsidies in India: Equitable and Sustainable Access and Regulation
Books
Additional titles on comparative environmental law can be found using JACOB, GW Law Library's catalog.
Corporate Liability for Transboundary Environmental Harm: An International and Transnational Perspective by Explores what is needed in terms of legislative action and identifying options for judicial pliability, thereby providing an important legal contribution in furthering the development of an effective international and transnational environmental liability law regime.
Environmental Law in Arab States by Provides a comprehensive and authoritative account of the guiding principles and rules relating to environmental protection in the Arab region.
Greening the Civil Codes: Comparative Private Law and Environmental Protection by Examines the greening of civil codes from a comparative perspective.
Implementing Climate Change Policy: Designing and Deploying Net Zero Carbon Governance by Provides an analysis of the implementation of climate change policies worldwide to assess whether they are meeting the aims set out in the 'Paris Agreement'. The first part compares climate policies employed by the EU, the US, Latin America, Russia, China, the Middle East, and Africa. The second explores ways of improving key regulatory mechanisms to increase the effectiveness of greenhouse gas mitigation and adaptation measures.
International Law for Energy and the Environment by Discusses how international and national legislation now requires the energy sector to focus more on sustainability and the circular economy in response to new policies at both international and national levels.
Research Handbook on Transnational Environmental Law by Provides a detailed overview and critical discussion of the key themes and perspectives transnational environmental law.
Routledge Handbook of Private Law and Sustainability by Authors present case study examples from twenty countries in Europe and beyond and discuss a wide range of issues including new property law and consumer law paradigms, the use of legal tech for promoting sustainable property management, strategies for fighting planned obsolescence, and eco-design.
Transformative Environmental Constitutionalism by Discusses a legal theory of transformative environmental constitutionalism as a novel framework within which courts could adjudicate environmental law disputes, developing law for the Anthropocene's global struggles.
Treatises
Treatises, written by legal scholars and practitioners, provide current, in-depth analysis and commentary on an area of environmental law.
- Comparative Environmental Law and RegulationAnalyzes key environmental laws, regulations, and implementation systems of more than 60 countries.
- Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Lawv. 1. Climate Change Law
v. 2. Decision Making in Environmental Law
v. 3. Biodiversity and Nature Protection Law
v. 4. Compliance and Enforcement of Environmental Law
v. 5. Multilateral Environmental Treaties
v. 6. Principles of Environmental Law
v. 7. Human Rights and the Environment
v. 8. Policy Instruments in Environmental Law
v. 9. Energy Law, Climate Change and the Environment
v. 10. Water Law
v. 11. Trade and Environmental Law
v. 12. Chemical Risk Governance - New Directions in the Law of the Sea: Regional and National DevelopmentsProvides a comprehensive guide to the implementation of the U.N. Convention on the Law of the Sea at the regional and national levels.
- Space LawCoverage includes treaties and agreements as well as national laws and policies relating to space law.
Other Publications
- Hague Academy Collected Courses Online(HeinOnline)
Online version of the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, "an encyclopaedic publication on private and international law." Provides online access to 320 volumes spanning over 80 years of the history of international law produced by the Hague Academy of International Law. - Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International LawCurrent, online version of the print Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Written by over 650 scholars and practitioners from around the world and edited by a team from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Includes more than 700 new topics, not covered in print edition, as well as access to the Oxford Law Citator. Updated quarterly.