Global & Comparative Environmental Law
A basic guide to global and comparative environmental law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Current News
- Access World News Research CollectionProvides access to over 528 million current and archived articles from thousands of global and U.S. news sources. Each source includes coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, and industries.
- Bloomberg Law: Latest News
- Environment & Energy (E&E) Online PublicationsSelected news coverage of environmental law, policy and science focuses on the U.S., however, developments in other countries are also tracked.
- Environment & Energy ReportProvides selected current news coverage of selected countries.
- Global Legal Monitor(Law Library of Congress)
Covers legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources. - Global NewsstreamFull text access to over 2,500 U.S., Canadian and international newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
- International NewsstreamCurrent and archival content from over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series.
- Law360News articles report on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures.
- Lexis: NewsSearches newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, television and radio transcripts, plus newswires. Coverage varies by source.
- U.S. NewsstreamFull text access to over 500 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, as well as wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format
- Westlaw: NewsSearches newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, television and radio transcripts, plus newswires. Coverage varies by source.
Selected Newspapers:
All GW students, faculty, and staff have free, full online access to The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. For additional information, see "New Access to Digital News Subscriptions."
- Financial TimesContains articles from this leading British business newspaper going back eight years. NOTE: FT.com will require you to set up an account with your gwu.edu email address. Must use GWU VPN for off-campus access.
- National Law JournalA monthly legal newspaper; articles highlight current legal evenings, employment in legal areas, criminal investigations, and new law office management techniques.
- New York Times
- Washington Post
Indexes to the Legal Literature
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)(HeinOnline)
Provides citations to current law journal articles. - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)(HeinOnline)
Provides citations to journal articles with selected full text. - Legal SourceProvides citations to journal articles with selected full text.
- LegalTracProvides citations to journal articles with selected full text.
Full Text Law Journal Databases
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields.
Tip: To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links, add "george washington," and "Save."
- HeinOnline: Law Journal Library: Advanced Search
- Lexis: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
- vLexJustisFull-text access to selected journals from 140 countries. Updated daily.
- Westlaw: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
- Digital Commons Network: Law CommonsFree, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
- SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkComposed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, making available scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
Selected Journals
- EcoamericasMonthly articles, in English and Spanish, on development and the environment in Latin America. Articles include contact and resource information. A searchable archive covers November 1998 to date.
- ELR: Environmental Law Reporter: News & AnalysisAnalysis includes discussion of new international environmental law developments as well as developments in selected countries.
- Environmental Justice (Edward Elgar Publishing)A collection of articles analyzing environmental justice issues in a global context.
- Environmental Justice (Mary Ann Liebert Publishers)A peer-reviewed journal that explores the equitable treatment of all people with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies.
- George Washington Journal of Energy and Environmental Law (JEEL)Focuses on scholarship at the intersection of energy and environmental law, including analysis of developments in selected countries.
- Review of European, Comparative & International Environmental Law (RECIEL)Contains articles on a broad range of topics in environmental law and policy, including developments in international, European Community and comparative environmental law and policy.
- Transnational Environmental Law (TEL)Focuses on the study of environmental law and governance beyond the state. It approaches legal and regulatory developments with an interest in the contribution of non-state actors and an awareness of the multi-level governance context, striving for a new generation of environmental scholarship that will bridge geographical boundaries.