Global & Comparative Environmental Law
A basic guide to global and comparative environmental law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Databases
-
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional LawProvides analytical coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. MPECCoL articles address a focused range of topics that cover the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
-
World Constitutions Illustrated(HeinOnline)
Includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for all countries, and links to free websites that provide access to the world's constitutions.
Selected Publications
Additional titles on comparative constitutional law and the environment can be found using JACOB, GW Law Library's catalog.
-
Constitutionalism and Transnational Governance Failures
by
Explores strategies for limiting transnational market failures, governance failures, and constitutional failures impeding protection of the universally agreed sustainable development goals like climate change mitigation and access to justice and transnational rule-of-law. -
Environmental Rights: The Development of Standards
by
Discusses significant new insights into the way that environmental rights are developing, the standards of protection that they confer, and the way that standards in the field of environmental rights can potentially be further developed in the future. -
Implementing Environmental Constitutionalism: Current Global Challenges
by
Presents global conversations about whether and how environmental constitutionalism can be made more effective to protect the natural environment. -
Principles of Constitutional Environmental Law
by
Provides analysis of the intersection of constitutional and environmental law. -
Research Handbook on Global Climate Constitutionalism
by
Explores the implementation of climate constitutionalism on a global scale, considering both language and substance in order to design adequate normative patterns for addressing climate change. -
Transformative Environmental Constitutionalism
by
Discusses a legal theory of Transformative Environmental Constitutionalism as a novel framework within which courts could adjudicate environmental law disputes, developing law for the Anthropocene's global struggles.
