GW Law Library: Library Guides: Online Databases, Books, Journals, & Articles at the Burns Law Library: A to Z Database List

Questions?

If you have any problems or questions related to the Burns Law Library's online resources, please contact us at electronicservices@law.gwu.libanswers.com.

Jacob Burns Law Library Databases, A-Z

This is an alphabetical list of all electronic resources to which the Law Library subscribes. Each entry for an electronic resource includes a description of the resource's contents and information about access to the resource. Please refer to our "Off-Campus Access" guide to determine how to use a resource from other locations.

To identify resources related to a specific topic, check the list of subject-specific research guides written by our law librarians. These subject guides include Law Library subscription resources, GW Gelman and Himmelfarb libraries' subscription resources, open-access sources, and additional research guides created by our law librarians.

Actes royaux français, 1256-1794 (French Royal Acts, 1256-1794) This link opens in a new window
"French Royal Acts" is a digital collection within Gale's Archives Unbound database. Including 16,000 pamphlets from this period of French history, "French Royal Acts" covers legislative history and governance of France, as well as other aspects of French life.
University-wide access
Almanac of the Federal Judiciary This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles and evaluations of federal judges.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy
American Economic Association Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association site provides access to The American Economic Review as well as American Economic Review Insights, AEA Papers & Proceedings, Journal of Economic Literature, The Journal of Economic Perspectives, The American Economic Journal Applied Economics, The American Economic Journal Macroeconomics, American Economic Journal Economic policy, and American Economic Journal Microeconomics
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy and Gelman proxy
Aspen Learning Library This link opens in a new window
Includes over 150 study aids, including current editions of the Examples & Explanations series and Crunch Time study guides. When creating individual user accounts, GW Law students should use their GW Law email addresses.
Available off-campus via GW Law Library proxy server.
The Bluebook - Table 2 - Foreign Jurisdictions This link opens in a new window
Starting with the 21st edition of the Bluebook, Table 2 (Foreign Jurisdictions) is not available in print. The table includes sources of law from over 40 jurisdictions outside the United States of America. Access to the table is free.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of select texts published by Cambridge University Press. While abstracts are available for all subject areas, the Library's subscription includes full-text access only to select titles in the Law collection.
Off-campus access via GW Law proxy server.
ChinaLawInfo This link opens in a new window
Chinese language database from the Legal Information Center of the Peking University. ChinaLawInfo includes Chinese statutes and regulations, plus secondary legal information such as judicial explanations, research articles, book reviews, links to online Chinese legal journals, a directory of Chinese law scholars, and information about law making and law enforcement.
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy This link opens in a new window
"The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990" is a Digital Collection within Gale's Archives Unbound database. This collection consists of essential documents on the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands.
University-wide access
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 This link opens in a new window
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals. The archive unites a number of geographic areas, reflecting the widespread impact of the changes in crime and its policing during the long nineteenth century. The collection covers Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes and includes material in English, Spanish, French, Italian, and German. Using this archive, it is possible to trace the influence of a legal judgement or development of a penal methodology through various different jurisdictions.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy and Gelman proxy
Current Index to Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Timely article index (produced 4-6 weeks before commercial legal periodical indexes such as Index to Legal Periodicals and LegalTrac) to over 500 legal publications, organized by legal topics. Complete tables of contents of all journals indexed are included.
Access is restricted to the Law School computer network.
Dalloz.fr This link opens in a new window
Dalloz.fr is a platform for French law organized by subject. It contains the full text of all French codes, as well as court decisions, journals, encyclopedias, and professional reference books.
GW Law access only; IP authenticated but single-use.
Dalloz Revues This link opens in a new window
Dalloz Revues provides access to all 32 Dalloz journals in digital format.
GW Law access only; IP authenticated but single-use.
Digital News Subscriptions This link opens in a new window
Access to The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal is available through GW Libraries Digital News Subscriptions. More information about these news subscriptions including access instructions is available on the GW Libraries website.
EcoAmericas This link opens in a new window
Monthly report of articles, in English and Spanish, on development and the environment in Latin America. Articles include contact and resource information. A searchable archive covers November 1998 to date.
Remote access not available.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of Anglo-American legal materials (including treatises, legislation, and cases) published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom, along with important works printed in the Americas during that time period. This collection allows for full-text searching of almost 13,000 works.
Elgaronline This link opens in a new window
Online access to monographs, research handbooks, and encyclopedias. Focuses on a wide range of areas including: international and comparative law, intellectual property, trade, finance and commercial law, information and technology, antitrust, environmental and energy law, European law, corporate and financial law, and law and economics.
Available off-campus through GW Law proxy.
ELR: The Environmental Law Reporter This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis and reporting on every aspect of environmental law. Includes current news, articles, cases, administrative documents, environmental statutes, international treaties, and federal and state regulations.
Environment & Energy (E & E) Online Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&ENews PM.
University-wide access. Accessible from off-campus via proxy server.
Fastcase Premium This link opens in a new window
Fastcase provides an online legal research system, featuring a comprehensive 50-state and federal database of primary law.
Campus-wide access; Available from off-campus via GW Law proxy..
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Provides information about the legal systems of over 150 jurisdictions. Each jurisdiction includes an introductory essay regarding its historical legal developments, along with references to the major codes, national gazettes, and collections of laws and jurisprudence issued within the country. There is also a subject compilation of references to significant laws, regulations, and jurisprudence.
University-wide access. Off-campus access is available through the GW Law Library proxy.
govinfo.gov This link opens in a new window
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including authenticated PDFs of the CFR, Federal Register, United States Code, Congressional reports, and more.
Note: Govinfo.gov replaced FDsys.gov on December 14, 2019..
The Grotius Collection Online: Printed Works This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of 267 printed works by and on the great Dutch humanist and jurist Hugo Grotius (1583-1645), published between 1609-1941, that are kept at the Peace Palace Library in The Hague. This collection enables scholars to examine the work of Hugo Grotius, quickly and efficiently online.
The titles in this collection can be divided into a few subject categories and are written in several languages.
Hague Academy Collected Courses Online (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, "an encyclopaedic publication on private and international law." Provides online access to 320 volumes spanning over 80 years of the history of international law produced by the Hague Academy of International Law.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through Burns Law Library and Gelman Library proxies.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
A research platform comprised of historical and current collections of legal documents. Collections include a retrospective Law Journal Library; U.S. Supreme Court Library (U.S. Reports, preliminary reports, and slip opinions); United States Code (1925 to date); Statutes at Large (1789 to date); Federal Register Library (vol. 1, 1936 to date); Code of Federal Regulations (1938 to date); U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library; and Water Rights & Resources.
Campus-wide access.
ICLR Online This link opens in a new window
The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales (ICLR) provides this online platform for authoritative case law from 1865 to the present. Contains Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Business Law Reports, Industrial Cases Reports, and Public & Third Sector Law Reports.
University-wide access. Off-campus access through GW Law proxy.
IFAR [International Foundation for Art Law - Art Law & Cultural Property Database] This link opens in a new window
The IFAR Art Law & Cultural Property Database is a comprehensive online research tool to help navigate the rapidly increasing body of legislation and case law concerning the acquisition, authenticity, export, and ownership of art and cultural objects. From cases of fraud and theft to more nuanced issues of attribution and authenticity, it includes information that is difficult to find elsewhere and presents it in a user-friendly format. Developed by the International Foundation for Art Research, a nonprofit educational and research organization, together with distinguished legal advisors, the Database draws on historical archives and extensive new research, and is continually updated and expanded.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. Coverage 1960-present.
Campus-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law proxy.
InsideEPA.com This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1980, Inside Washington Publishers publishes newsletters providing in-depth reporting on federal policy covering five areas: defense, trade, health care, energy, and the environment. The online news service provides full text access to eight newsletters. Documents cited in news articles are full text. Search by keyword or browse by date. Archival coverage varies by newsletter.
International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IEL) Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive Country Reports on: Civil Procedure, Commercial and Economic Law, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Partnerships, Criminal Law, Cyber Law, Energy law, Environmental Law, Family and Succession Law, Intellectual Property, Intergovernmental Organizations, Media Law, Private International Law, Property and Trust Law, and Tort Law.
Available University-wide. Off-campus access through GW Law proxy server.
International Law Reports [vLexJustis] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of decisions of international courts and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts (in English translation) on important international law issues. Coverage is 1919 to date.
Investment Arbitration Reporter (IAReporter) This link opens in a new window
Investment Arbitration Reporter (IAReporter) is a news and analysis service tracking international arbitrations between foreign investors and sovereign governments. It focuses on the international law that applies to foreign investment, particularly the international investment treaties and arbitration claims. Coverage includes investigation of unreported cases, review and analysis of legal documents and policy developments. It also offers up-to-date data on investor-state claims, enabling users to monitor particular cases or arbitrators, and to research developments in a chosen country, treaty-regime, or time-period.
IP authenticated; University-wide access
Investment Claims [Oxford University Press] This link opens in a new window
A database of international investment law and arbitration materials. Includes the full text of awards and decisions, bilateral investment treaties, multilateral treaties, national arbitration laws, institutional rules, an arbitrator directory as well as selected arbitration books, journal articles and the Oxford Law Citator.
Journal of Forensic Sciences This link opens in a new window
Official publication of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences. Includes papers on original investigations, observations, scholarly inquiries, and reviews. Its scope encompasses forensic toxicology, pathology, psychiatry, immunology, jurisprudence, criminalistics, odontology, physical anthropology, and questioned documents and engineering. Also contains papers dealing with forensic-oriented aspects of the social sciences. All papers are peer reviewed. Cover volumes 51 (2006) - Present; for online access to older issues, see Journal of Forensic Sciences, 1972-2005 Backfile.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW University Libraries proxy.
Journal of International Biotechnology Law This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the legal implications of the latest developments in biotechnology and genetic engineering.
Journal of World Trade This link opens in a new window
Bi-monthly, interdisciplinary journal focusing on economic, political, social, and legal aspects of international law and international commerce. Articles frequently address such topics as unfair trade practices, customs laws, trade negotiations and agreements, the World Trade Organization (WTO), the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), and the European integration process.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Campus-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law proxy server; Also available through Gelman Library database list.
Jus Mundi - Academic Research This link opens in a new window
Multilingual search engine containing over 30,000 international law and investor-state arbitration documents, including treaties, international cases, and rules. Also includes Wiki Notes, a collection of peer-reviewed summaries on key issues arising out of a legal concept with links to relevant cases and other related Wiki Notes topics.
KluwerArbitration.com This link opens in a new window
Arbitration materials including legislation, case law, institutional rules, treatises, and commentary. Published by Kluwer Law International in conjunction with the Institute for Transnational Arbitration (ITA), the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA), and the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA).
University-wide access; Remote access via GW Law proxy server..
Kluwer IP Law This link opens in a new window
Designed for international patent law practitioners, this Wolters Kluwer research platform provides analytical materials, case law, news (including the KluwerPatentBlog), and legislation concerning intellectual property law, as well as a number of practice tools, including "Smart Charts," which allow users to quickly and easily compare information from multiple jurisdictions.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through Burns Library proxy.
KluwerManualIP.com This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Manual for the Handling of Applications for Patents, Designs and Trademarks throughout the World. KluwerManualIP.com provides intellectual property information, including patent, trademark, and design details, from more than 200 countries. Includes registration procedures, recent developments and news, and changing regulations.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through Burns Library proxy.
LAW.COM This link opens in a new window
Access the latest legal news and analysis across ALM national and regional publications, including The American Lawyer, The National Law Journal, Legal Tech News, New York Law Journal, and Supreme Court Brief. User registration is not needed to browse subscription content, but users wishing to subscribe to news briefings (such as Legal Education: Ahead of the Curve) or to create a customized news feed on Law.com Radar must register and sign in.
GW Law access only; Off-campus access via GW Law proxy.
Law360 This link opens in a new window
News articles report on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization. "Track Law Firms and Companies" allows the user to search or browse by law firm or company. Law360 content includes: Insurance Authority Enterprise, Tax Authority Enterprise, Pulse Enterprise, Employment Authority Enterprise, and Law360 Complete. Law360 content excludes: Law360 UK Sections and Law360 Real Estate Authority.

Daily email alerts available for each practice area. Links embedded in email alerts only work when user is behind a Law School IP address.
Law Journal Press Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to select E-Books published by Law Journal Press. NOTE: Only one concurrent user per title.
Available from off-campus via GW Law proxy server.
LawTRIO This link opens in a new window
Online access to Legal Looseleafs in Print (which includes treatises), Legal Newsletters in Print, and Directory of Law Related CD-ROMs.
IP authenticated database with access is limited to one user. If you receive an error message, someone else may be searching the database and you should try again.
Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window
Database of contact and biographical information for members of Congress, the Federal Government, state & local governments, courts, law and lobbying firms, companies, associations, non-profits, foreign governments, and more.
Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy server
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for law journals. Includes all of the content from Index to Legal Periodicals plus additional titles.
University-wide access
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Index of articles in law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers (1980 to date). Covers U.S., British Commonwealth, and E.U. law-related topics.
Lexis+UK This link opens in a new window
Access to extensive resources from Lexis+UK platform on UK law and legislation, including: All England Law Reports European Cases, All England Reprints, Atkin's Court Forms, Bill Tracker & Amended Legislation, Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents, Halsbury's Laws of England, Halsbury's Is it in Force?, Halsbury's Annotations, Halsbury's SI Citator, Journals Index, Scottish Parliament Acts & Statutory Instruments, UK Parliament Acts & Statutory Instruments, and UK Act & Statutory Instruments Summaries. Our subscription package is Lexis+UK Academic Library.
University-wide access; IP authenticated and off-campus access via EZProxy.
LexisNexis Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains treatises, state codes, and two study aids series, the Q&A series and the Understanding series. Readers can add personal annotations, create bookmarks, and download text for offline reading. iOS and Android apps are available. Acquisition of this collection made possible through the Jacob Burns Law Library Fund.
Available to current GW Law students, faculty and staff only.
Life Sciences Intellectual Property Review [LSIPR] This link opens in a new window
Provides news and analysis on life science issues faced by intellectual property practitioners from gene patents to stem cell research.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a vast collection of law and law-related literature from LLMC (formerly the Law Library Microform Consortium), a non-profit library cooperative.
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of of foreign and international legal literature providing online access to pre-1926 treatises and monographs. This digital collection is sourced from the George Washington University, Yale, and Columbia law libraries.
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Foreign Primary Sources Parts I & II, 1600-1970) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of statutes and codes of selected European, Latin American, African, and Asian countries as well as Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. This digital collection is sourced from the George Washington University, Yale, and Harvard law libraries.
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1891-1980) This link opens in a new window
Contains over half a million pages of briefs from appellants, appellees, and supporters (amicus briefs), with their respective replies, as well as appendices, memoranda, petitions, plaintiff statements, transcripts, and more from the various circuits of the U.S. Courts of Appeals.
Available university-wide. Off-campus access via GW Law proxy server.
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of over 21,000 Anglo-American 19th and 20th century legal treatises.
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Primary Sources, Part I 1620-1926 & Part II 1763-1979) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of materials from 1620-1979, including U.S. Codes, state and municipal codes, published records of American colonies, and state constitutional convention materials.
Campus-wide access
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Trials 1600-1926) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of trial texts from around the world. Allows for the historical examination of social issues such as gender, sex, class, and celebrity for a given era. Most trial documents are English-language texts published in the United States or Great Britain.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
Provides analytical coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. MPECCoL articles address a focused range of topics that cover the essence, character, development, and history of constitutional law from a global perspective.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law proxy server.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Current, online version of the print Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Written by over 650 scholars and practitioners from around the world and edited by a team from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Includes more than 700 new topics, not covered in print edition, as well as access to the Oxford Law Citator. Updated quarterly.
GW Law only; Off-campus access through GW Law Library proxy.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Publications This link opens in a new window
Working papers in PDF format published by NBER, a non-profit economic research organization.
Available university-wide. Off-campus access through GWU proxy.
OGEL: Oil, Gas & Energy Law Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Current scholarly and professional articles on global oil, gas and energy law topics. Article abstracts link to relevant websites and primary law documents.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press research platform providing access to scholarly academic books and journals.
Available University-wide. Off-campus access through GW Law proxy server.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Historical dictionary that traces a word from its beginnings to the present, illustrating the changes with quotations.
GWU Libraries subscription; Off-campus access through GWU Libraries proxy.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Review essays evaluating the current thinking in the field of Law, as well as such areas as Political Science and Psychology, and more. Explores key issues, arguments and concepts, and new research perspectives.
Available university-wide. Off-campus access via GW Law proxy server.
Oxford Legal Research Library (OLRL): International Commercial Law This link opens in a new window
International Commercial Law (ICML) provides integrated and fully searchable digital access to some of the leading works relevant to international business law. The module contains an unrivalled library of titles on the law of sale and includes related areas such as the laws of contract and agency, insurance, shipping, and the carriage of goods.
ACCESS IS RESTRICTED TO GW LAW.
Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL) This link opens in a new window
Decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, as well as domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Contains Oxford Reports on: International Law in Domestic Courts, International Criminal Law, International Human Rights Law, International Courts of General Jurisdiction, and International Investment Claims.
GW Law only; Off-campus access for GW Law faculty/staff/students through GW Law Library proxy.
PLI Plus This link opens in a new window
PLI Plus is the Practising Law Institute's eBook platform for its course handbooks, treatises, answer books, legal forms, and program transcripts.
GW Law network access. Off-campus access through GW Law proxy server.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Legislative Histories (1969-present); Congressional Reports (1819-present); Congressional Hearings (published and unpublished) (1824-present); Congressional Committee Prints (1830-present); U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers from 1789-1969; and CRS Reports (1916-present). Also contains member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Law proxy
ProQuest History Vault: Nazi Looted Art and Assets - Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process This link opens in a new window
Documents on the legal, diplomatic, and political actions during and after World War II regarding German art looting in Europe. Includes documents related to litigation and negotiations for the return of items to legitimate owners, claims for compensation, and FBI and State Department records.
University-wide access. Off-campus access via GW Law proxy server.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative history service providing full-text digital access to Congressional publications created during the legislative process leading up to the enactment of a U.S. Public Law.
University-wide access.
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window
An online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including dockets, oral arguments, and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis. Off-campus access via GW Law proxy.
* Coming in Fall 2022*
Supreme Court Insight backfile (covers 1897-1932)
Supreme Court Insight 2022-23 term update
Supreme Court Insight-Cert Denied 2022-23 term update.

Acquisition of the backfile of this collection covering the years 1897-1932 made possible through the Jacob Burns Law Library Fund.
SHAFR Guide Online This link opens in a new window
An annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations since 1600.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy
Slavery & the Law, 1775-1867 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. These petitions were collected from hundreds of courthouses and historical societies in 10 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes the important State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.
Available university-wide; Off-campus access via GW Law Proxy.
Tax Notes This link opens in a new window
Access to "Tax Notes," "Tax Notes International," "State Tax Notes," "Tax Notes Today," "State Tax Today," "Worldwide Tax Daily," and "Highlights and Documents."
University-wide license; First-time users must create individual account while connected to GWU network; Returning users log in using email address and password created during their initial use.
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Online access to RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law library, including international tax treaties. Also includes International Tax Alert, International Taxes Weekly, and This Week with Cym Lowell.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy server.
TradeLawGuide This link opens in a new window
Provides access to WTO legal agreements and instruments, negotiating history, precursor agreements, WTO and pre-WTO case law, dispute settlement procedural documents and other related content back to 1947. It also provides links to non-WTO content that is relevant to the WTO agreements including OECD, World Customs Organization, CODEX, and other information.
University-wide access
Transnational Dispute Management This link opens in a new window
Transnational Dispute Management (TDM) provides access to international arbitration and dispute management materials. The service includes the TDM Journal, legal and regulatory materials, and the OGEMID listserv. The TDM Journal focuses international arbitration generally, and significant areas of international investment such as oil, gas, energy, infrastructure, mining, and utilities. The legal and regulatory materials include awards, cases, contracts and agreements, and forms.
Off-campus access through GW Law proxy
U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs Digital Archive (1832-1978) This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of more than 240,000 historical U.S. Supreme Court documents. Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Transcripts are listed by case name and the date of oral argument.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Law proxy.
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
Consists of three parts: The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, and Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties. Includes text of every treaty and international agreement entered into by a member of the UN. Provides access to League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) and other UN treaty-related materials.
Remote access currently unavailable.
Vandeplas E-book Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Vandeplas Publishing's ebook collection using the VitalSource ebook platform. The Vandeplas ebook collection includes reference works, study guides, and monographs. Subject areas include business and corporate, government and policy, and law. Each book is available for a 3 day loan period.
VitalLaw (Wolters Kluwer. formerly Cheetah) This link opens in a new window
A broad legal research database covering primary and secondary materials from Wolters Kluwer, including legislation, regulations, case law, administrative decisions, forms, and commentary related to many areas, including business & management, government contracts, health, human resources, labor, intellectual property, and tax. Note (5/4/21): If you have problems with the SmartChart feature, try using the GW VPN or an incognito browser window.
University-wide access. Off-campus access via GW Libraries proxy server.
vLexJustis This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to legislation, case law, books, journals, contracts, and forms from 140 countries. Updated daily. It also includes searchable and browsable content for the International Law Reports, UK judgments, UK acts, and UK Statutory Instruments. Note: coverage of The Weekly Law Reports and The Law Reports has moved to a different database (ICLR Online).
World Intellectual Property Review [WIPR] This link opens in a new window
Provides news and guidance and business and legal issues faced by practitioners active in intellectual property.
University-wide access; Off-campus access via GW Law Library proxy
WorldTradeLaw.net: Dispute Settlement Commentary This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of GATT/WTO instruments and Appellate Body Reports; links to international trade news resources; and Dispute Settlement Commentaries (DSCs) summarizing and analyzing WTO reports/arbitrations.