Negotiation
Legal negotiation and related alternatives to court adjudication are the focus of this guide.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Study Aids
The GW Law Library now provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
Casebooks
Alternative Dispute Resolution: The Advocate's Perspective: Cases and Materials by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9084 .B78 2016Covers basic factors affecting the negotiation process, legal and public policy issues in mediation, arbitration preemption and the decreasing relevance of state arbitration law, universal arbitration of all types of disputes, and agency-annexed ADR.
Effective Legal Negotiation and Settlement, 9th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: SL3: KF9084 .C7 2016Demonstrate how structured bargaining interactions are, exploring different negotiator styles, verbal and nonverbal communication, the six distinct stages of bargaining interactions, and various negotiating tactics. It describes various issues negotiators should be familiar with, plus the possible impact of ethnicity and gender issues on individuals negotiating with others. Transnational negotiations are covered, as are mediation concepts. Various ethical issues relevant to bargaining interactions are also included.
Negotiation: Processes for Problem Solving by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Course Reserve (1st floor): KF9084 .M46 2021Covers the theory, skills, ethical issues, and legal and policy analyses relevant to all key areas of negotiation practice.
Private Justice: The Law of Alternative Dispute Resolution by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor) KF9084.A7 S76 2000Discusses various aspects of alternative dispute resolution, such as mediation; the role of ombudsmen; settlement; and due process, remedies, and judicial review.
Resolving Disputes: Theory, Practice, and Law by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: SL3: KF9084 .R475 2022Covers negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and hybrid approaches, preparing law students to represent clients in all types of alternative dispute resolution.
Hornbooks
Principles of Alternative Dispute Resolution by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9084 .W35 2016Discusses concepts central to ADR, including arbitration, negotiation, mediation, and other processes.
Principles of Arbitration Law by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9085 .W36 2017Discusses general arbitration law--from federal preemption of state law to the formation, performance, and enforcement of arbitration agreements--and provides in-depth coverage of specialized law governing international arbitration and labor arbitration.
Nutshells
Legal Negotiation in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9084 .T47 2023Covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation. Also addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated. Examines negotiating styles, strategies, and tactics as well as the stages of legal negotiation.- Mediation in a Nutshell, 3d ed. by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9084 .K69 2014Provides a comprehensive, yet concise examination of the primary aspects of mediation practice. 
Alternative Dispute Resolution in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9084 .N647 2021Presents a concise summary of alternatives to the court adjudication of disputes.
Arbitration Law in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reserve (1st floor): KF9085 .C36 2021Addresses freedom of contract, federal preemption, and universal arbitrability.
Examples & Explanations
Examples and Explanations for Dispute Resolution by 
This link opens in a new window
Combines introductions to theory with practical exercises in decision analysis, problem solving, and various forms of conflict resolution.
