Study Aids
Online Study Aids
The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library (formerly called the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library), which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Instructions are available for accessing electronic study aids in a web browser or using a mobile app. Use your GW Law email address and password.
About Study Aids
Study aids, which generally focus on particular areas of law that correspond to the subjects of law school courses, can help law students gain a basic understanding of legal principles and clarify complex concepts. They can be used both when preparing for class and when studying for exams, as supplements to the assigned reading of a course. The GW Law Library owns a collection of study aids to help you. Those shelved in the Reserve Collection at the Circulation Desk may be borrowed for up to 2 hours; older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks and checked out.
Students may also consult CALI, an online tutorial resource. Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
Study Aids in the Library’s collection include the following:
Examples & Explanations (E&Es) provide an overview of legal principles, along with hypothetical legal questions followed by detailed explanations.
Understanding Series: each title in the series is a concise hornbook covering fundamental concepts for legal subjects.
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students. They are more detailed and scholarly than other study aids, cite to primary authorities for black letter law principles, and may also discuss policy considerations.
Concise Hornbook Series ("Principles of . . ."): texts in this series provide less thorough coverage of a legal topic than a hornbook, but still cover the essentials.
Emanuel CrunchTime series: designed for exam studying; includes "flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers."
Link to Emanuel CrunchTime series
Questions and Answers (Q&A) series: "Each book in the Questions & Answers Series contains a collection of titles containing 200-400 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, as well as a comprehensive “practice final exam,” to help students prepare for course study and for final exams. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains, in detail, why that option is better than the other three. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer."
Link to Questions and Answers series
