Immigration Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Nate Delmar
National Security Law Librarian
Immigration Law
The purpose of this research guide is to identify print and digital resources concerning immigration law. Primary sources include the Constitution, federal statutes & regulations, federal agency documents, federal rules, state statutes, and case law.
Books
Several important resources are kept on Reserve at the Circulation Desk, including the current Kurzban's. Older editions and other resources are found in the Law Library Stacks.
- Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (17th Ed.) byCall Number: Reserve (1st floor) KF4819 .K87 2020
- Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook (16th Ed.) byCall Number: SL3 KF4819 .K87 2018For updates and corrections, see https://www.aila.org/publications/books/errata/kurzbans
- AILA's Asylum Primer: a practical guide to U.S. asylum law and procedure (7th ed.)Call Number: KF4836 .G47 2015 (Reserve)
- Essentials of Immigration Law (2nd ed.) byCall Number: KF4819 .B67 2009 (Reserve)
- Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell (7th ed.) byCall Number: KF4819.85 .W45 2017 (Reserve)
- Immigration Procedures Handbook byCall Number: KF4819 .I474 2014-2015 (Reserve)Current edition on Westlaw.
- Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity: A guide to representing foreign-born defendants (8th ed.)Call Number: SL3 KF4842 .K73 2019
- Immigration Checklists and Practice Pointers byCall Number: SL3 KF4819 .B47 2020
Study Aids
Online access: The GW Law Library now provides access to the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
The following study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell, 7th by Publication Date: 2017
Understanding Immigration Law and Practice by Publication Date: 2020
Understanding Immigration Law, 3d by Publication Date: 2019
