GW Law Library: Library Guides: Supreme Court of the United States: Opinions

Legal Databases

Search U.S. Supreme Court cases using any of the following legal databases:

Westlaw
Lexis
Bloomberg Law
Fastcase Premium
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight
Full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including dockets, oral arguments, and amicus briefs.

The following reporters contain Supreme Court opinions:

United States Reports (U.S.)
Official reporter. Contains the final opinions of the United States Supreme Court.
Supreme Court Reporter (S. Ct.)
West's Supreme Court Reporter is an unofficial reporter but contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States along with headnotes, key numbers, and synopses.
United States Supreme Court Reports (L. Ed., L. Ed. 2d)
Lexis's United States Supreme Court Reports (also called Lawyer's Edition) is an unofficial reporter, but contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States along with headnotes, summaries, and annotations.

Cornell's Legal Information Institute: Supreme Court Opinions
The site gives fast, free, same-day access to new opinions. Cornell's complete archive goes back to 1990 and has hundreds of pre-1990 decisions of historical significance.
FindLaw: U.S. Supreme Court Cases
FindLaw's free collection of Supreme Court opinions covers 1893 to date.
Google Scholar
Case law content includes decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Justia: U.S Supreme Court Center
Free, searchable opinions from 1790 to the present. Justia also offers browsing by "Recent Opinions," year, and U.S. Reports volume.
SCOTUSblog
This blog is usually the first source of new Supreme Court opinions.

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)