Supreme Court of the United States
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Data & Analysis
- CQ Electronic Library (via GW's Gelman Library)
This link opens in a new window
The Supreme Court Yearbook contains various data sets, figures and tables. Some in Excel and CSV formats. For additional CQ databases, go to https://libguides.gwu.edu/az.php?a=c. - SCOTUSblog Stat Pack
This link opens in a new window
Statistics about the Supreme Court compiled and released after each term beginning with 1995 term. - The First One Hundred Justices: Statistical Studies on the Supreme Court of the United States
This link opens in a new window
Location: SL3 KF8741.A152 B6 - The Supreme Court Database
- This link opens in a new window
Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2019 terms. - US Courts' US Supreme Court Tables
- This link opens in a new window
Provides PDFs of the following reports, back to 1997: Petitions for Review on Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court Filed, Terminated, and Pending; and Cases on Docket, Disposed of, and Remaining on Docket. - History of Supreme Court Caseload Reporting
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Judicial Center's reports on caseloads from 1823 - . - Empirical SCOTUS
- This link opens in a new window
Examines "contemporary and historical Supreme Court issues at an empirical level. Issues covered in the blog range from examining Supreme Court attorneys, the Justices, and other actors in the Court to analyzing decisions and oral arguments."
Nominations
- U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary
- This link opens in a new window
- Law Library of Congress
- This link opens in a new window
- History of Supreme Court Nominations
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Has the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. The Browse by Justice option allows you to see relevant works related to that Justice, including links to articles, a bibliography of other works, and links to Scholarly Articles. - Research Guide: Supreme Court Nominations
- This link opens in a new window
Georgetown Law Library
United States Courts News
News from USCourts.gov
Proposals to Reform the Supreme Court
Presidential Commission on The Supreme Court of the United States (April 9, 2021)
"The Commission’s purpose is to provide an analysis of the principal arguments in the contemporary public debate for and against Supreme Court reform, including an appraisal of the merits and legality of particular reform proposals. The topics it will examine include the genesis of the reform debate; the Court’s role in the Constitutional system; the length of service and turnover of justices on the Court; the membership and size of the Court; and the Court’s case selection, rules, and practices."
It’s Time to Reform the Supreme Court — Here Are Five Ways to Do It (Erwin Chemerinsky)
A Bigger, Better Supreme Court: the case for reform (Jonathan Turley)
Posner backs 19-member Supreme Court (Judge Richard Posner)
United States Law Week
- U.S. Law Week -- Supreme Court Today
This link opens in a new window
Tracks every Supreme Court petition and case on the docket, from filing to final disposition. Supreme Court Today online is a continuously updated database providing access to rulings, opinions, and summaries of arguments. - Supreme Court Today Tracker
- This link opens in a new window
News
Supreme Court news from major media outlets:
- New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
SCOTUSblog News
SCOTUSblog, founded in 2002 and published continuously since then, aims to provide unbiased, comprehensive coverage of the Supreme Court of the United States.
News from the Supreme Court
Public information from supremecourt.gov: