Supreme Court of the United States
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Reference Department
About the Supreme Court
Article III, §1, of the Constitution provides that "[t]he judicial Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish." The Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) was created in accordance with this provision and by authority of the Judiciary Act of September 24, 1789 (1 Stat. 73). It was organized on February 2, 1790. The Court is the highest tribunal in the Nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States.
SCOTUS site: Oral Arguments (Calendars and Lists, Transcripts, Audio); Docket System (for cases filed since the 2001 Term); Rules and Guidance (Court Rules, Guides for Counsel).
Journals & Law Reviews
Search here for all the Supreme Court-related periodicals available in HeinOnline.
- Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
All volumes from 1973 to the present. Case locator provides, for previewed cases, 1) Links to merit briefs; 2) Links to amicus briefs; 3) Full print transcripts; and 4) Audio transcripts from Oyez. - Cato Supreme Court Review
This link opens in a new window
Also in print on LL2 at K3 .A76 (2001/2002 - current). - Harvard Law Review
- This link opens in a new window
Beginning with Volume 63 (1949), Issue No. 1 of each volume covers the previous term's decisions. Current issue on Reserve. - Hastings Constitutional Law Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of Supreme Court History
- This link opens in a new window
- Journal of the Supreme Court of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- Supreme Court Economic Review
- This link opens in a new window
- Supreme Court Watch
- This link opens in a new window
- The Supreme Court Review
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Supreme Court Actions
This link opens in a new window
Selected Texts
The Supreme Court: An Essential History by - This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018 (2nd ed.)
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF8742.A35 E525 2008 (Reference, 1st Floor)
The Supreme Court A to Z- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF8742.A35 S8 2012 (Reference, 1st Floor)
The Supreme Court Compendium: Two Centuries of Data, Decisions, and Developments- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF8742 .S914 2021 (Reference Desk, 1st Floor)
Supreme Court Practice: for practice in the Supreme Court of the United States
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF9057 .S8 2019 (Circulation/Reserve Desk, 1st floor)
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF4548 .E53 2000 (Stack Level 3)
