Supreme Court of the United States
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Supreme Court website
The Court's official site provides transcripts of oral arguments on the same day an argument is heard by the Court. Same-day transcripts are considered official but subject to final review. Transcripts are available for the cases argued during the 1968 Term and subsequent Court Terms.
Law Library of Congress
Oral argument transcripts in paper or microform are available at the Law Library of Congress. See the library's finding aid for specifics on their collection and how to request transcripts, e.g., by U.S. Reports citation, Term, and/or Docket Number.
Burns Law Library Databases
- ProQuest Supreme Court Insight, 1975 - 2016
This link opens in a new window
Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases including oral argument transcripts. This is a new database; retrospective content is still being loaded. - United States Supreme Court Transcripts
This link opens in a new window
From October 1979 to current. - Transcripts of U.S. Supreme Court Oral Arguments (SCT-ORALARG)
This link opens in a new window
From October 1990 to current.
Recordings
- The Oyez Project
This link opens in a new window
Recordings of oral arguments from October 1955 to present. Click on podcast link to access the MP3 file for each oral argument. - May It Please The Court: 23 Live Recordings of Landmark Cases as Argued before the Supreme Court
This link opens in a new window
Six cassettes with printed transcript. Published in conjunction with the Earl Warren Bill of Rights Project, and the Northwest Public Affairs Network. - CourtListener Oral Arguments database
- This link opens in a new window
The site collects oral argument audio from the Supreme Court and all of the Federal Circuit courts that provide it.
Burns Law Library Microfiche & Print
- The Complete Oral Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
microfiche, 1952-1987. (Selected arguments) - Official Transcript Proceedings Before the Supreme Court of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
microfiche, 1988-1995/6 - Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States: Constitutional Law
- This link opens in a new window
1975-2004. Includes oral argument transcripts when available. - May It Please the Court: The Most Significant Oral Arguments Made before the Supreme Court since 1955
- This link opens in a new window
Accompanies 23 live recordings of landmark cases as argued before the Supreme Court.