Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GW Law Library
Research Guides

Services @ the Jacob Burns Law Library

Source Collecting

Use the Library's guides on Journal Articles Research and Burns Law Library Databases, A-Z List to help locate PDF documents available in Library databases.

Best Practices for Source Collecting

Best Practices:

Rely on text of article from online database. 

Examples:  Lexis, Westlaw, Factiva, Access World News, ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Law Library Policy:

Interlibrary loan requests will not be filled for articles that are available through databases in any format (HTML or PDF).

Best Practices:

Rely on PDF versions of articles from online database or web site of the journal or publisher.

Rely on version of articles for which pagination designation is provided throughout the article.

Examples:  HeinOnline, Index to Legal Periodicals, LegalTrac.

Law Library Policy:

Interlibrary loan requests will not be filled for tables of contents or for copies of spines and/or covers.

 

Best Practices:

Rely on journal's website.

Examples:  The George Washington Law Review Arguendo; Yale Journal of Law & Technology

Law Library Policy:

Interlibrary loan requests will be not filled for articles from online-only journals.

Best Practices:

If the source is available electronically from the publisher in any format, rely on the source from the publisher.

Examples:  Oxford Scholarship Online, VitalLaw

Law Library Policy:

Interlibrary loan requests will not be filled for print sources if a source is available in either PDF or HTML format directly from the publisher.

Best Practices:

Any type of document from government agency websites, both state and federal, domestic or foreign.

Law Library Policies:

Interlibrary loan requests will not be filled for documents that are available on the government agency's official website or otherwise found online and designated as official and/or authenticate by the issuing agency or government.

Best Practices:

Issuing organization's or tribunal's website or online documents designated as official and/or authentic by the issuing organization or tribunal, e.g., International Court of Justice (ICJ) or the International Criminal Tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and Rwanda (ICTY/R).

Law Library Policies:

Interlibrary loan requests will not be filled for documents that are available on the organization's or tribunal's website or otherwise found online and designated as official and/or authentic by the issuing organization or tribunal.

Journal Hold Shelf

Students working on a journal project may leave books from the library collection at the circulation desk to be placed on the journal hold shelf for the designated editor.  The editor will receive a notice when books are ready for pick-up.   

Designated journal editors with proxy privileges may send emails to docservices@law.gwu.edu for retrieval of books in the law library's collection for journal projects.  This service is available Monday - Friday.

Emails by an editor must include title, call number and location for each book requested.  Library staff will retrieve books and place them on the journal hold shelf.   The editor will receive a notice when books are ready for pick-up.  Books requested by noon will be placed on the hold shelf by 3pm.  Books requested after noon will be placed on the hold shelf the following business day by 3pm.

Books are reshelved 5 days from the date of the pick up notice.  Books located in the reserve section may not be placed on the journal hold shelf.  The maximum for each journal is 20 books on the journal hold shelf. 

Borrowing, Renewals and Fees

Books borrowed from the Law Library

Each journal may designate one staff member, usually one editor, to check out books on behalf of the journal.  This editor will be given proxy borrowing privileges; privileges include an increased number of books that may be borrowed, over the normal limit, and books borrowed in the Fall will be automatically renewed until the end of the Spring semester. Proxy forms must be signed by the advising faculty member.  

If you borrow a book in your name for your journal, however, you are responsible for the book.  Books borrowed in your name are subject to student loan rules.

Books borrowed from another library

After setting up an editor's proxy borrowing record, journals may create an interlibrary loan borrowing record in the editor's name to make interlibrary loan requests on behalf of the journal.  

If you borrow a book in your name for your journal, however, you are responsible for the book.

Terms of the loan are set by the lending library.  Terms include the loan period, whether a book may be renewed, whether a book or material is library use only, and whether a book may be photocopied; loans may also include other terms.  Fines and replacement fees for lost or damaged materials are the responsibility of the borrower and are set by the lending library.