Journal Articles Research
A basic guide to locating journal articles.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Current News
- Access World News Research Collection
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 528 million current and archived articles from thousands of global and U.S. news sources. Each source includes coverage of local and regional news, including companies, - Bloomberg Law: Latest News
This link opens in a new window
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. - Law360
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
News articles report on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization. "Track Law Firms and Companies" allows the user to search or browse by law firm or company. - Lexis: News
- This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: News
This link opens in a new window
Selected Newspapers:
Note: All GW students, faculty, and staff have free, full online access to The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. For additional information, see "Digital News Subscriptions."
- Financial Times
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from this leading British business newspaper going back eight years. NOTE: FT.com will require you to set up an account with your gwu.edu email address. Must use GWU VPN for off-campus access. - National Law Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers
Links to selected historical newspapers are provided below. Additional historical newspaper databases can be found by consulting GW Gelman Library's list of historical newspaper databases.
- Baltimore Sun (Historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1837-1991; full page and article images with searchable full text. - Chicago Tribune (Historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1849-1998; digital full page and article images with searchable full text. - GW Gelman Library "Journal Search"
- This link opens in a new window
Type the title of the newspaper in the search box.
Retrieves links to GW databases providing full text. - Library of Congress: Historical Newspaper Collections
- This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times (Historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1881-1999; digital full page and article images with searchable full text - Miami Herald
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1911 to date. - New York Times (Historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage is: 1851-2015; digital full-text and full-image articles. - New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (Historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1841-1962; digital full page and article images with searchable full text. - Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1984 to date; Text format. - Washington Post (Historical)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1877-2006; digital page images from every issue.
Related Guides
- Newspaper Sources
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Gelman Library)