U.S. Energy Law: Nuclear
The focus of this guide is the U.S. federal regulation of nuclear energy.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Books
The Library's nuclear energy law collection includes print and online titles. Search JACOB to locate titles on nuclear energy law topics.
Selected titles:
Double Jeopardy: Combating Nuclear Terror and Climate Change by Discusses an "all-of-the-above" energy policy, one that advances the goal of decarbonizing the environment through all available means--including nuclear power.
Law of Nuclear Energy, 3d ed. by Provides an overview of the legal and regulatory framework applying to nuclear power programs and the procurement, construction and financing of new nuclear power plants.
The Legacy of Nuclear Power by Nuclear energy can leave behind a legacy of radioactive waste. Four examples are discussed - Hanford (USA), Sellafield (UK), La Hague (France), and Gorleben (Germany) .
Nuclear Energy Regulation, Risk and the Environment by Examines nuclear treaties in relation to environmental protection and discusses legal frameworks for non-proliferation and de-nuclearization.
Nuclear Law by Traces the journey of nuclear law: its origins, how it has developed, where it is now, and where it is headed. Discusses the four branches of nuclear law--safety, security, safeguards and nuclear liability--and the interaction of nuclear law with other fields of national and international law.
Nuclear Power Plant Development: Contract Issues, Claims and Disputes by Discusses the intricacies of developing a nuclear power plant project from a construction and legal standpoint.
Nuclear Regulation in the U. S.: A Short History by Examines the history of nuclear regulation from 1946-2009 and the NRC as an independent regulator of nuclear safety.
Status and Trends in Spent Fuel and Radioactive Waste Management by Provides a global overview of the status of spent fuel and radioactive waste management programmes, inventories, current practices, technologies and trends.
Treatises
Treatises, written by legal scholars and practitioners, provide current, in-depth analysis and commentary. A number of energy law treatises include discussions of nuclear energy law issues:
- Energy Law and Transactions
- Environmental Law Practice Guide
- Lexology Panoramic: Electricity RegulationProvides an overview of the regulation and business of electricity generation, transmission, distribution and supply, including nuclear energy, provided by lawyers writing on the markets in their respective countries.
- The Law of Hazardous Waste: Management, Cleanup, Liability, and Litigation
- Law of Independent Power
- Matthew Bender Renewable Energy Law and Policy
- Environmental Law
- Taxation of Public Utilities
Reporters
- Nuclear Regulation Reporter(Wolters Kluwer, VitalLaw database)
Provides current news & analysis as well as the text of statutes, regulations and decisions relating to nuclear energy.
Study Aids
Study aids, which generally focus on particular areas of law that correspond to the subjects of law school courses, can help law students gain a basic understanding of legal principles and clarify complex concepts. They can be used both when preparing for class and when studying for exams, as supplements to the assigned reading of a course. Additional study aids in the Law Library's collection can be found through the Library's Study Aids guide.
Online:
Note: When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
- Aspen Learning Library includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides.
- LexisNexis Digital Library includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Print:
- Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours.
- Older print editions may be found in the Law Library stacks.
Casebooks
Energy, Economics, and the Environment by Covers the full range of energy resources, including nuclear energy, as well as an in-depth examination of issues related to electric power.
Energy Law and Policy by Organized into three parts that introduce students to the fundamental aspects of the energy sector, energy law, and the most pressing energy topics of the 21st century. Includes a chapter on nuclear energy.
Nutshells
Energy Law in a Nutshell by Addresses the component parts of the energy fuel cycle, as well as the market and government policies that oversee it.
