U.S. Energy Law: Nuclear
The focus of this guide is the U.S. federal regulation of nuclear energy.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Germaine Leahy
What is Nuclear Energy?
- Nuclear Essentials
(World Nuclear Association)
- Nuclear Explained
(U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA))
- What is Nuclear Energy?
(U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC))
- Keep Out! A Radioactive Waste Primer (Nov. 29, 2020)
(Law Library of Congress)
A brief overview of high-level waste, low-level waste, and uranium mining and mill tailings, which make up most of the radioactive waste in the U.S.
About Nuclear Energy Regulation
- A Short History of Nuclear Regulation, 1946 - 2009
This link opens in a new window
Provides a brief overview of the most significant events in the history of U.S. nuclear regulation. - Information Digest: 2022–2023 (NUREG-1350, Volume 34)
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) since 1989. Beginning with the 2022-2023 edition, the Digest will be published every two years. Provides information about the NRC and the industries it regulates; describes the agency’s responsibilities and activities, provides general information on nuclear-related topics and includes NRC and industry data.
The Law of Nuclear Energy, 3d ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of the legal and regulatory framework applying to nuclear power programs and the procurement, construction and financing of new nuclear power plants.
Energy Law in a Nutshell, 4th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Addresses the component parts of the energy fuel cycle, as well as the market and government policies that oversee it.
Energy Law Basics by - This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include nuclear energy.
Fuel Cycle to Nowhere by 
This link opens in a new window
A history and overview of U.S. nuclear waste law and regulation tracing sixty years of nuclear weapons programs, the growth of nuclear power, and their waste legacies, the rise of environmentalism, and the responses of federal agencies.
Industry Facts & Statistics
- Facts and Figures
- This link opens in a new window
(World Nuclear Association (WEA)) - Nuclear & Uranium
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Dept. of Energy. Energy Information Administration (EIA))
Collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information. - Nuclear Energy in the U.S.
- This link opens in a new window
(Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)) - Nuclear Power Plants
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA))
Acronyms & Abbreviations
- Glossary
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission) - Glossary: Nuclear
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)) - GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
- This link opens in a new window
(UC San Diego Library)