Intellectual Property Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Tiffany Souza
About Intellectual Property (IP)
Intellectual property (IP) refers to creations of the mind, such as inventions; literary and artistic works; designs; and symbols, names and images used in commerce. The primary legal frameworks for protecting IP are patent, trademark, copyright, and trade secret.
This guide provides an overview. There are additional IP Law Research Guides for specific areas of IP law.
Study Aids
The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
-
Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell, 7th ed.
by
-
Intellectual Property: Examples and Explanations, 7th ed.
by
This study aid is available online in the Aspen Learning Library. -
-
-
Advanced Introduction to International Intellectual Property
by
Identifies the major instruments and discusses key concepts and issues of international intellectual property law. -
Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell, 8th ed.
by
Casebooks
Search the Library's catalog (JACOB) to see if a book required for class is on Course Reserve in the Library. Course Reserve materials may be checked out for use in the Library from the Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to two hours.
-
Intellectual Property: Law & the Information Society - Cases & Materials, 6th ed.
by
Open access casebook. -
Intellectual Property in the New Technological Age: 2023
by
Volume I: Perspectives, Trade Secrets and Patents -
Intellectual Property in the New Technological Age: 2023
by
Volume II: Copyrights, Trademarks and State IP Protections -
Integrated Intellectual Property: Cases, Materials, and Statutes, 2nd ed.
by
-
International Intellectual Property: Problems, Cases, and Materials, 4th ed.
by
Legal Research Platforms
-
Bloomberg Law: Trademarks & Copyrights Practice Center
-
Bloomberg Law: Patents & Trade Secrets Practice Center
-
Kluwer IP Law
-
Lexis: Copyright Law Practice Area
-
Lexis: Patent Law Practice Area
-
Lexis: Trade Secrets Law Practice Area
-
Lexis: Trademark Law Practice Area
-
Westlaw: Intellectual Property Law Practice Area
-
Vital Law: Intellectual Property
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying specific topics.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
-
Intellectual Property: All IP-Related Lessons
Black's Law Dictionary
-
Black's Law Dictionary, 12th ed.
by
This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 70,000 entries and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms.