Intellectual Property Law

Leads the U.S. government's response to stop global IP theft and enforce trade laws.

"Established in 2008 to advise the President and coordinate with Cabinet departments and agencies on the development of the United States’ overall intellectual property policy and strategy, to promote innovation and creativity, and to ensure effective intellectual property protection and enforcement, domestically and abroad."

USTR's Innovation and Intellectual Property (IIP) uses a wide range of bilateral and multilateral trade tools to promote strong intellectual property laws and effective enforcement worldwide, reflecting the importance of intellectual property and innovation to the future growth of the U.S. economy.

A department of the Library of Congress, whose mission is to promote creativity by administering and sustaining an effective national copyright system.

An independent, quasi-judicial federal agency with broad investigative responsibilities on matters of trade. Unfair import investigations [Section 337 investigations, conducted pursuant to the Tariff Act of 1930] most often involve claims regarding intellectual property rights, including allegations of patent infringement and trademark infringement by imported goods.

The federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.

The jurisdiction of the House Committee on the Judiciary includes the United States Patent and Trademark Office, patents, trademarks, and copyright.

The jurisdiction of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary includes the United States Patent and Trademark Office, patents, trademarks, and copyright.

Works to advance the development and improvement of intellectual property laws and their fair and just administration.

Work includes maintaining standards of professional ethics, improving laws relating to intellectual property and in their proper interpretation by the courts, and providing legal education to the public and to its members on intellectual property issues. Site includes Model Patent Jury Instructions.

Work includes user privacy, free expression, and innovation through impact litigation, policy analysis, grassroots activism, and technology development.

A trade association for owners of patents, trademarks, copyrights and trade secrets.

Works to develop and improve laws for the protection of intellectual property.

WIPO administers 26 intellectual property treaties, including the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), and the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works.

Provides the following IP collections: IP laws and regulations, WIPO-administered treaties and IP‑related treaties, and IP judgments.

WIPO "is the global forum for intellectual property (IP) services, policy, information and cooperation. We are a self-funding agency of the United Nations, with 193 member states. Our mission is to lead the development of a balanced and effective international IP system that enables innovation and creativity for the benefit of all."

Provides legal and interpretive texts relating to the TRIPS agreement and access to an e-TRIPS Gateway, a global resource on IP law and policy.