Health Law
The promotion and preservation of U.S. public health is the focus of this guide.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Study Aids
Study aids, which generally focus on particular areas of law that correspond to the subjects of law school courses, can help law students gain a basic understanding of legal principles and clarify complex concepts. They can be used both when preparing for class and when studying for exams, as supplements to the assigned reading of a course. Additional study aids in the Law Library's collection can be found through the Library's Study Aids guide.
Online:
Note: When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
- Aspen Learning Library includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides.
- LexisNexis Digital Library includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Print:
- Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours.
- Older print editions may be found in the Law Library stacks.
Questions and Answers: Health Law by 
This link opens in a new window
Features over 250 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, arranged by topic. The text includes detailed answers to each of the questions, highlighting the correct answer and providing the reasoning as to why the other responses are not correct.
Nutshells
Administrative Law of Health Care in a Nutshell by 
This link opens in a new window
Discusses administrative agencies and general principles of administrative law, state administrative law of health care financing and delivery, state and federal regulation of health care providers and suppliers, and administrative law of the Medicare and Medicaid programs.
Bioethics and Law in a Nutshell, 2d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Discusses human reproduction, genetics, legal standards for the determination of death, decisions regarding life-sustaining treatment, aid in dying, organ transplantation, regulation of research with human subjects, public health and bioethics, distributive justice, and healthcare reform.
Health Care Law and Ethics in a Nutshell, 4th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Topics include health insurance reform, health care finance and delivery structures, treatment relationships, facility and insurance regulation, corporate and tax law, refusal of life support, organ donation, and reproductive technologies.
Medical Liability in a Nutshell, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Examines negligence-based claims, intentional torts, causation, damages, affirmative defenses, limitations, immunities, and liabilities, as well as medical care liability issues affecting hospitals and managed care organizations.
Mental Health Law in a Nutshell, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Chapters cover confidentiality, expert testimony, criminal law, civil matters, civil liability of mental health professionals, discrimination against mentally ill and intellectually disabled, and financial and medical benefits for disabled persons.
Public Health Law in a Nutshell, 4th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Chapters discuss public health's constitutional sources and limits as well as historic and modern attempts to regulate in the interests of public health and safety, addressing these issues within a modern framework supporting the role of law toward improved health outcomes in routine and emergency applications. Updated to reflect key developments through the COVID-19 pandemic in mid-2021.
Casebooks
Bioethics: Health Care Law and Ethics by - This link opens in a new window
Discusses judicial opinions, statutes, regulations and policies from health care organizations and professional associations to give students insight into the strategies and methods used by courts, legislatures, administrative agencies, and health care organizations to address issues in bioethics.
Genetics: Ethics, Law and Policy, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Covers the ethical, legal, and policy impact of human genetics from research ethics to medical malpractice law to forensics.
Health Law: Cases, Materials and Problems, 9th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date coverage of the health law field and discusses the broader topic of a more just and equitable health care system.
The Law of Healthcare Administration, 10th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive overview of healthcare law, and includes discussions of Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health (the US Supreme Court's June 2022 decision that overturned the constitutional right to abortion), Biden-era Affordable Care Act (ACA) litigation and regulation, antidiscrimination standards, the federal No Surprises Act, and fraud and abuse regulations.
Public Health Law, Ethics, and Policy: Cases and Materials, 2d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive compilation of materials on public health law and features a discussion of health equity.
Reproductive Technologies and the Law by - This link opens in a new window
Explore the origins of assisted conception and then traces its development to the present day.
CALI Lessons
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) provides a library of over 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. Current GW Law students have access to CALI lessons and can obtain a CALI authorization code by emailing ask@law.gwu.libanswers.com.