Food, Agriculture & Environmental Law
The focus of this guide is the intersection of U.S. food, agriculture and environmental law.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Court Decisions
- Case Law(GW Law Library)
Provides links to databases containing federal and state court decisions. - Supreme Court of the United States(GW Law Library)
Provides links to databases containing U.S. Supreme Court documents and dockets.
U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) Decisions
- Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) DecisionsALJs conduct rulemaking and adjudicatory hearings throughout the United States in proceedings subject to the Administrative Procedure Act. Approximately 50 statutes administered by agencies within the Department of Agriculture require APA hearings. The Judges issue initial decisions and orders in adjudicatory proceedings, approve of consent decisions entered into by parties, and decide appeals of debarments and suspensions. ALJ decisions may be appealed to the Office of Judicial Officer (OJO). ALJ decisions are also published in Agriculture Decisions.
- Office of Judicial Officer (OJO) Decisions(U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Office of the Judicial Officer)
The Judicial Officer hears appeals of ALJ decisions. OJO decisions are not reviewable within USDA, but any litigant in a proceeding may seek judicial review of the Judicial Officer’s decision. - Agriculture DecisionsOfficial publication of decisions and orders issued in adjudicatory proceedings conducted for the Department under various statutes and regulations. Selected court decisions concerning the Department’s regulatory programs are also included. Beginning with Volume 72 (2013), Agriculture Decisions is published exclusively online. Volume 71 (2012) was the publication's final print edition.
- Agriculture Decisions Archive
- National Agricultural Law Center: Coverage: 1996 (Vol. 55) to date.
- National Agricultural Law Center: Coverage: 1996 (Vol. 55) to date.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Decisions
- Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Decisions, Orders & FilingsALJs conduct hearings and render decisions in proceedings between EPA and persons, businesses, government agencies and other organizations which are or alleged to be regulated under environmental laws.
- Environmental Appeals Board (EAB) DecisionsEnvironmental Appeals Board (EAB) was established by the Administrator of the EPA on January 27, 1992. (57 Fed. Reg. 5320 (1992)). Prior to the creation of the EAB, administrative appeals were decided by the EPA Administrator, Chief Judicial Officer and Judicial Officers. Decisions of the EAB are final and may not be further appealed to the EPA Administrator. However, EAB decisions may be appealed to a federal court.
- Published (EAB) Decisions List of Statutes
Links to EAB decisions alphabetically, in reverse chronological order, by appeal number, and by E.A.D. citation.
- EAB Dockets
Links to cases currently pending before the EAB, cases that were pending before the EAB and have been closed since January 1, 2006, and cases that were pending before the EAB and were closed between March 1992 and December 31, 2005. Active Dockets include an index of all filings in each case and, in most cases, links to PDF copies of the filed documents.
Updating
- Bloomberg Law: BCite
- Lexis: Shepard's
- Westlaw: KeyCite
Related Guides
- Clean Water Act (CWA)(GW Law Library)
- U.S. Environmental Law(GW Law Library)
- Bluebook and Citation Resources(GW Law Library)