Food, Agriculture & Environmental Law
The focus of this guide is the intersection of U.S. food, agriculture and environmental law.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Germaine Leahy
About Food, Agriculture & Environmental Law
Agricultural Law in a Nutshell by Provides an introduction to agricultural law, contracts, agricultural financing, bankruptcy, real property, cooperatives, civil liabilities, water law, environmental law, and regulatory law.
Agriculture and Food Handbook by Provides a comprehensive review of the regulatory, antitrust, and consumer protection issues that arise in the agriculture and food industries.
Clean Air Act Essentials, 3d ed. by Provides legal practitioners, consultants, and other interested individuals with an overview of the Clean Air Act and its implementing regulations.
Environmental Law Handbook, 24th ed. by Discusses major environmental laws, examining their history, scope, and requirements with a chapter devoted to each.
Environmental Law in a Nutshell, 10th ed. by Provides an up-to-date foundation for understanding environmental law, including coverage of the full range of environmental issues, from climate change and air pollution, to waste disposal and wetlands.
Food Law: A Practical Guide by "The goal of this practical guide to food law is to offer attorneys of all stripes an introduction to how different areas of law and legal practice intersect with food."
Food Regulation, 3d ed. by Introduces readers to the case law and statutory scheme of food regulation, defines the inspection authority and enforcement tools of various regulatory agencies, and discusses current and emerging public policy issues.
Web Resources
- Agriculture(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA))
Provides regulatory and non-regulatory agriculture-related information. - A – Z Agriculture Index(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA))
Links to programs, environmental stewardship methods, best management practices and other topics of interest that farming operations may be able to use to prevent or reduce pollution, including information about compliance as well as operating or maintenance procedures. - National Agricultural Law Center (NALC)In 1987, Congress called for the creation of the National Center for Agricultural Law Research and Information. Since its founding, the Center has received funding in part from federal appropriations through the National Agricultural Library, an entity within the Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
Glossaries
- Agriculture: A Glossary of Terms, Programs, and Laws, 2005 Edition(Congressional Research Service (CRS) Report)
- Glossary of Agricultural Production, Programs and Policy(Compiled by Chuck Culver, Division of Agriculture, University of Arkansas System)
- Glossary of USDA Acronyms(U.S. Dept. of Agriculture)
Common acronyms and terms used at USDA.
Related Guides
- Clean Water Act (CWA)(GW Law Library)
- Research by Topic(National Agricultural Law Center)
- U.S. Environmental Law(GW Law Library)