U.S. Energy Law: An Introduction
A basic guide to U.S. energy law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Study Aids
Study aids, which generally focus on particular areas of law that correspond to the subjects of law school courses, can help law students gain a basic understanding of legal principles and clarify complex concepts. They can be used both when preparing for class and when studying for exams, as supplements to the assigned reading of a course.
Additional study aids in the Law Library's collection can be found through the Library's Study Aids guide.
Online:
Note: When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
- Aspen Learning Library includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides.
- LexisNexis Digital Library includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Print:
- Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours.
- Older print editions may be found in the Law Library stacks.
Casebooks
Energy Law and Policy by 
This link opens in a new window
Offers an introduction to energy law and policy.
Cases and Materials on Oil and Gas Law, 7th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Examines the common law of oil and gas ownership and the remedies that protect and restrict ownership rights.
Energy, Economics, and the Environment: Cases and Materials, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the unifying characteristics of energy law, while also emphasizing its connections to environmental and economic issues affecting energy industries.
Renewable Energy: Law, Policy, and Practice, 2d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed introductions to a diverse array of legal issues associated with renewable energy development, ranging from wind rights to solar access protection to geothermal resource rights.
Hornbooks
Oil and Gas Law and Taxation: A Revision of Hemingway by - This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete revision of the Hemingway Oil and Gas Law and Taxation hornbook. Covers the substantive law of oil and gas and federal income taxation of oil and gas transactions.
Nutshells
Climate Change and Sustainable Development Law by - This link opens in a new window
Discusses how the U.S. legal system fosters greenhouse gas reduction, energy conservation, and sustainable patterns of growth including energy efficient and sustainable buildings, the use of renewable energy resources, the protection of sequestering open space, and the adaptation of buildings and communities to sea level rise and natural disasters.
Energy Law in a Nutshell, 4th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Chapters cover energy economics, energy policy, the administration of energy law, energy decision-making, oil, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear power, hydropower, clean and net-zero energy, and a just transition.
Oil and Gas Law in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Covers the legal rules that govern the development of privately owned mineral rights in the United States, which often apply to government-owned resources. The nature, protection, and conveyance of oil and gas rights, leasing, and taxation are also discussed.
