U.S. Energy Law: An Introduction
A basic guide to U.S. energy law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Legal Databases
- VitalLaw: Energy & Environment
This link opens in a new window
- Lexis Advance: Energy & Utilities Law
This link opens in a new window
- PLI Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full collection of Practising Law Institute (PLI) Press publications, including treatises, course handbooks, and journals. - Westlaw: Energy & Environment
This link opens in a new window
Websites
U.S. Government Agencies:
- U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
- This link opens in a new window
An agency within the U.S. Dept. of Energy; collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. - Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Department of State: Energy
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Department of the Interior: Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Department of the Interior: Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement (OSMRE)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Department of the Interior: U.S. Geological Survey (USGS): Energy
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Department of Transportation: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
- This link opens in a new window
Organizations | Trade Associations | Nonprofits:
- American Bar Association. Infrastructure and Regulated Industries Section
- This link opens in a new window
- American Bar Association. Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources, Section Committees: Energy & Resources Committees
- This link opens in a new window
- American Bar Association. Section on Environment, Energy and Resources (SEER)
- This link opens in a new window
- American Clean Power (ACP)
- This link opens in a new window
- American Gas Association (AGA)
- This link opens in a new window
- American Petroleum Institute (API)
- This link opens in a new window
- American Public Power Association (APPA)
- This link opens in a new window
- Center for Biological Diversity (CBD): Energy Justice
- This link opens in a new window
- Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)
- This link opens in a new window
- Database for State Incentives for Renewables & Efficiency (DSIRE)
- This link opens in a new window
- Edison Electric Institute (EEI)
- This link opens in a new window
- Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
- This link opens in a new window
- Energy Bar Association
- This link opens in a new window
- The Foundation for Natural Resources and Energy Law (FNREL)
- This link opens in a new window
- Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission
- This link opens in a new window
- National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO)
- This link opens in a new window
- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL): Energy
- This link opens in a new window
- North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC)
- This link opens in a new window
- North American Energy Standards Board (NAES)
- This link opens in a new window
- Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)
- This link opens in a new window
- Sabin Center for Climate Change Law
- This link opens in a new window
(Columbia Law School) - Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA)
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Energy Association
- This link opens in a new window
An association of public and private energy-related organizations, corporations, and government agencies.
Interdisciplinary Databases
GW Gelman Library provides access to numerous subject databases that can be used to locate articles on energy law & policy, science, technology, engineering, and related topics.
Recommended Starting Points:
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, with some full text, to scholarly, multi-disciplinary journal articles. - ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the journal literature across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, education, science and technology, and humanities.
Other Subject Databases:
- ABI/Inform Complete Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers business and industry-specific topics. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals. - Business Source Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with selected full text to articles from scholarly business journals. - EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the economic literature in scholarly journals (including book reviews), books, dissertations, and working papers. Published by the American Economic Association. - Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from newspapers and other business, financial and company publications. - GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, on the environment and related disciplines. Some full text included. - GEOBASE (Engineering Village)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature on earth sciences and related disciplines, such as geology and alternative energy sources, - Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military. - Web of Science (WOS)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes several citation indices covering research journals in the sciences and social sciences. Permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).