U.S. Energy Law: An Introduction
A basic guide to U.S. energy law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Current News
-
Canary MediaProvides a free, online newsletter published under the auspices of Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) which chronicles the transition to a decarbonized economy and society, with a particular focus on the transformation of the primary energy, transportation, industrial, and building sectors.
-
The Conversation: Environment & EnergyAn independent source of news, analysis and expert opinion, written by academics and researchers. The Associated Press distributes The Conversation US articles daily to thousands of newsrooms.
-
EBA Brief(Energy Bar Association)
Features timely articles on energy-related legal or policy issues of interest to legal and energy professionals. -
Energy & Utilities Law News
-
Environment & Energy (E & E) Online PublicationsProvides daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&ENews PM.
-
InsideClimate NewsAn independent, not-for-profit, non-partisan news organization that covers clean energy, carbon energy, nuclear energy and environmental science—plus the territory in between where law, policy and public opinion are shaped.
-
InsideEPA.comProvides in-depth reporting on federal policy covering five areas: defense, trade, health care, energy, and the environment. News articles provide links to full text documents.
-
Law360Reports on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization.
-
National Law JournalProvides up-to-the-minute reporting on national and local legal news. Includes recent court decisions, jury verdicts, expert practitioner columns as well as reports focusing on emerging trends.
-
Nuclear TownhallAggregates news stories on nuclear energy from a variety of sources, including Associated Press, National Public Radio (NPR), Reuters and industry sources and newspapers.
-
Platts Inside N.R.C.Reports on the regulation of commercial nuclear power and the political or technical issues and trends affecting nuclear power regulation.
-
Pratt's Energy Law ReportArticles focus on alternative and traditional energy law issues as well as the critical juncture where energy technologies and the environment intersect.
Journals
-
Bulletin of the Atomic ScientistsArticles discuss nuclear weapons and disarmament, climate change, growing energy demands, and disruptive technologies.
-
Electricity JournalCovers energy, from coal, nuclear, natural gas and oil, and renewable energy sources including hydro, solar, geothermal and wind power. Also covered are emerging areas such as energy storage, microgrid strategies, dynamic pricing, cyber security, climate change, cap and trade, distributed generation, net metering, transmission, and generation market dynamics.
-
ELR: The Environmental Law Reporter: News & AnalysisProvides analysis and reporting on current developments in energy and environmental law. Published monthly.
-
Energy Law Journal(Energy Bar Association)
-
Energy PolicyAn international peer-reviewed journal addressing the policy implications of energy supply and use from their economic, social, planning and environmental aspects.
-
The Foundation for Natural Resources and Energy Law Institutes(formerly: The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF) Annual & Special Institutes)
Each year, the Foundation publishes the papers delivered at the Annual Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Institute on cutting-edge legal issues related to mining, oil and gas, public lands, water, environmental, and international law. -
The Foundation Journal for Natural Resources and Energy Law(formerly: The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF) Journal)
Contains articles covering oil and gas, mining, water, public lands, and environmental law. It also includes reprints of Foundation and law review articles. The spring volume’s Annual Oil & Gas Update covers judicial and legislative developments on a state-by-state basis. -
George Washington Journal of Energy & Environmental Law (JEEL)Focuses on scholarship at the intersection of energy and environmental law and is published by the George Washington University Law School as a supplement to the Environmental Law Institute's monthly Environmental Law Reporter News & Analysis journal.
-
Nuclear Law Bulletin(Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA))
Published twice a year in both English and French. Features topical articles written by legal experts. Covers nuclear legislative developments worldwide and reports on relevant case law, bilateral and international agreements and regulatory activities of international organizations. -
OGEL: Oil, Gas & Energy Law IntelligenceCurrent scholarly and professional articles on global oil, gas and energy law topics. Article abstracts link to relevant websites and primary law documents. Coverage includes selected U.S. energy law topics.
Blogs
To locate additional law blogs, search Justia BlawgSearch, Bloomberg Law, Lexis or Westlaw.
-
Regulatory Assistance Project (RAP) Blog
-
The Regulatory Review(University of Pennsylvania Law School, Penn Program on Regulation)
Alert Services
Some of the Law Library's journal and newsletter databases include "alert" features, which help users maintain awareness of current developments within a particular subject area.
-
Bloomberg Law Email RegistrationEmail summaries are available for Bloomberg Law 's topical news reports.
-
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)With a "MyHein" account, users are able to save a search query on an "Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)" topic and when journal articles are added to IFLP under this subject, receive an e-mail alert.
-
Law360Daily email alerts available for each practice area.
Links embedded in email alerts only work when user is behind a Law School IP address. -
Tax Analysts OnlineAccess to "Tax Notes," "Tax Notes International," "State Tax Notes," "Exempt Organization Tax Review," "Tax Notes Today," "State Tax Today," "Worldwide Tax Daily," and "Highlights and Documents."
Information on how to set up alerts:
-
Bloomberg Law
-
Google Scholar
-
HeinOnline: Alerts
-
Westlaw
Related Guides
-
Energy Law Journal Style Manual (Rev. 01-2023)(Energy Bar Association)