U.S. Energy Law: An Introduction
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Titles Recently Acquired
Cobalt Red: How the Blood of the Congo Powers Our Lives
Global Climate Change and U.S. Law (3d ed.)
Law of Nuclear Energy (3d ed.)
Promoting Renewable Energy: The Mutual Supportiveness of Climate and Trade Law
Research Handbook on Oil and Gas Law
World Trade Law and the Emergence of International Electricity MarketsBooks
The Library's energy law collection includes print and online titles. Search JACOB to locate titles on energy law topics. For example:
Global Climate Change and U.S. Law, 3d ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
The new edition provides an increased emphasis on all aspects of energy regulation, as well as additional material on emerging issues such as adaptation and geoengineering.
Intellectual Property in the Energy Sector by - This link opens in a new window
Examines the challenges and opportunities that intellectual property issues present for different areas of the energy sector, including: upstream: exploration and production of hydrocarbons across the full lifecycle of oil and gas fields; downstream: oil and gas processing technology and resulting differentiated fuel and lubricant products; and renewables: a look at the role of IP in supporting renewables businesses, with a spotlight on a solar start-up.
Resilience in Energy, Infrastructure, and Natural Resources Law by 
This link opens in a new window
'Resilience' is discussed as a common framework for the interpretation and development of energy, infrastructure, and natural resources law. Thematic chapters and case studies from multiple jurisdictions, map and assess legal responses to disruptive nature-based events, and examine possible legal pathways for more sustainable outcomes.
Routledge Handbook of Energy Law by - This link opens in a new window
Provides a global survey of the discipline of energy law, capturing the essential and relevant issues in energy today. Each chapter is written by a leading expert, and provides a contemporary overview of a significant area within the field.
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis and commentary on an area of energy law.
- American Law of Mining, 2nd edition
This link opens in a new window
- Energy Law and Transactions
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Taxation of Oil and Gas Transactions
- This link opens in a new window
- Hydraulic Fracturing Law and Practice
- This link opens in a new window
- Kuntz, Law of Oil and Gas
- This link opens in a new window
- Law of Federal Oil and Gas Leases
- This link opens in a new window
- Law of Independent Power
This link opens in a new window
- The Law of Oil and Gas Leases, 2d ed.
- This link opens in a new window
- The Law of Pooling and Unitization, 3d ed.
- This link opens in a new window
- Matthew Bender Renewable Energy Law and Policy
- This link opens in a new window
- Regulation of Public Utilities
- This link opens in a new window
- Regulation of the Gas Industry
- This link opens in a new window
- Williams & Meyers, Oil and Gas Law
- This link opens in a new window
- Wind Law
- This link opens in a new window
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS research attorneys write concise, objective reports on current legislative issues. Some reports are periodically updated.
To locate a CRS report or the most recent version of a CRS report, search:
- Bloomberg Law
- Congress.gov: CRS Reports
- HeinOnline
- ProQuest Congressional
Selected reports relating to energy law:
- Advanced Nuclear Reactors: Technology Overview and Current Issues
This link opens in a new window
- The Hydrogen Economy: Putting the Pieces Together
- This link opens in a new window
- Oil Spills: Background and Governance
- This link opens in a new window
- The Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS): An Overview
- This link opens in a new window
Theses & Dissertations
GW Environmental & Energy Law Program LLM theses & SJD dissertations can be located using JACOB, the Library's online catalog.
Since Spring 2009, all GW master’s theses are submitted through GW's ETD site.
They become part of the electronic archive, Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global, managed on behalf of universities nationwide by ProQuest.
Examples:
- Dynamic Federalism and Wind Farm Siting
- ATI v. Colorado: How the Commerce Clause Provides Guidance at the Confluence of Energy, Environmental, and Constitutional Law
- Building Energy Efficiency and Resilience in the United States, One Disaster at a Time: Fostering Green Building Principles through Disaster Assistance