Antitrust Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Study Aids
The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
Examples and Explanations for Antitrust, 3d ed. by Examples and Explanations for Antitrust Law, Third Edition is a relentlessly accessible introduction to a body of law that seems foreign and complex but does not at all have to be. By capturing the bigger picture without sacrificing any detail, introducing antitrust economics in a purely intuitive way appropriate for users at any level of economic sophistication, and extensively explaining the real-world context and institutions of antitrust practice, the book brings the law within reach for students of all backgrounds.
Understanding Antitrust and Its Economic Implications, 7th ed. by The seventh edition of Understanding Antitrust and Its Economic Implications attempts to offer an accurate and balanced description of the current state of antitrust law as well as its historical foundations and the evolution of the law.
Principles of Antitrust, 2d ed. by Nearly all of the aspects of federal antitrust policy are covered in this book. And it's written so you don't need a background in economics to understand it. Expert narration states the "black letter" law and presents policy arguments for alternatives. Text also includes an analysis of recent Supreme Court and lower-court decisions.
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses.
Federal Antitrust Policy, the Law of Competition and Its Practice, 6th ed. by Nearly all of the aspects of federal antitrust policy are covered in this treatise. And it's written so you don't need a background in economics to understand it. Expert narration states the "black letter" law and presents policy arguments for alternatives. Text also includes an analysis of recent Supreme Court and lower-court decisions.
The Law of Antitrust, an Integrated Handbook, 4th ed. by This updated edition of a venerable antitrust law treatise will meet the needs of lawyers, judges, scholars, and students. As in prior editions, it provides a clear statement of the law, visits unresolved issues and areas of controversy, and provides a candid assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the various positions. The new edition also contains a more user-friendly index.
Casebooks
Search the Library's catalog, JACOB, to see if a book required for class is on Course Reserve in the Library. Course Reserve materials may be checked out from the Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to two hours.
Antitrust Law in Perspective: Cases, Concepts and Problems in Competition Law, 4th ed. by 
Cases and Materials on Modern Antitrust Law and Its Origins, 7th ed. by 
Antitrust and Health Care: A Comprehensive Guide, 2d ed. by 
Antitrust: Principles, Cases, and Materials by "Antitrust textbook offered for free download . . . under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-Share Alike 4.0 International License."
Legal Research Platforms: Antitrust
- Bloomberg Law: Antitrust Practice Center
- Lexis: Antitrust & Trade Law Practice Area
- Westlaw: Antitrust Practice Area
- Wolters Kluwer's VitalLaw: Antitrust & Competition Practice Area
Black's Law Dictionary
Black's Law Dictionary, 12th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 55,000 law-related words and phrases and includes definitions of more than 1,000 abbreviations and acronyms.
