Antitrust Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Federal Statutes
The three major Federal antitrust laws: the Sherman Antitrust Act, in 1890 (26 Stat. 209), the Clayton Act of 1914 (Public Law No. 63-212), which amended the Sherman Act, and the Federal Trade Commission Act of 1914 (Public Law No. 63-203), which created the Federal Trade Commission.
- United States Code (U.S.C.)Official Code of federal laws, organized by subject matter. Revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. (Title 15 - Commerce and Trade.)
- United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)West's unofficial version of the United States Code, which includes many research features. (Title 15 - Commerce and Trade.)
- United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)Lexis's unofficial version of the United States Code, which includes many research features. (Title 15 - Commerce and Trade.)
Case Law & Dockets
For guidance on how to search state statutes, see the Law Library's Case Law guide.
- Lexis: Antitrust & Trade Law Cases
- Westlaw: Antitrust Cases
Antitrust Dockets:
- Docket Navigator: Antitrust Dockets"Covers U.S. district court cases involving federal antitrust claims." For a free academic account, send an email to contact@docketnavigator.com and provide your first and last name, GW Law email address, and, for students, anticipated date of graduation (month/year); for faculty and deans, your title.
Federal Regulations
- Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)Codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. Title 16 (Commercial Practices) includes Federal Trade Commission rules and regulations.
- eCFR (Electronic Code of Federal Regulations)Currently updated unofficial version of the C.F.R. Title 16 (Commercial Practices) includes Federal Trade Commission rules and regulations.
- Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)Official publication of federal agency rulemaking, including the Federal Trade Commission.
State Antitrust Laws
- State Antitrust Law Directory
- ABA - State Antitrust Practice and Statutes
Antitrust Guidelines for the Licensing of Intellectual Property
- 2017 Update to the Antitrust Guidelines for the Licensing of Intellectual Property"The Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission issued updated Antitrust Guidelines for the Licensing of Intellectual Property (“IP Licensing Guidelines”) in January 2017. The IP Licensing Guidelines describe how the agencies evaluate the potential competitive effects of licensing agreements that involve patents, copyrights, trade secrets, and know-how."
- Antitrust Guidelines for the Licensing of Intellectual Property (Archived) (1995)The IP Licensing Guidelines, issued in 1995, "state the antitrust enforcement policy of the U.S. Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission . . . with respect to the licensing of intellectual property protected by patent, copyright, and trade secret law, and of know-how."
- Antitrust Enforcement and Intellectual Property Rights: Promoting Innovation and CompetitionIn their Antitrust IP Report, issued in 2007, the U.S. Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission "reaffirmed the integral role of the IP Licensing Guidelines in their analysis of antitrust and intellectual property issues."