Skip to main content
The Jacob Burns Law Library Research Guides Home The Jacob Burns Law Library Research Portal The Jacob Burns Law Library Website The Jacob Burns Law Library Library Guides Page The George Washington University Law School Website

Help Searching JACOB

Information relevant for searching the Law Library's catalogs & databases

JACOB+ and JACOB

JACOB+ includes the Burns Law Library's catalog (books and journals) as well as other materials and selected articles to which the Library has access. A note concerning articles: JACOB+ does not include all content from every database to which the Library subscribes, nor does it include articles that law students have access through GW's Gelman or Himmelfarb libraries. We recommend that you also search directly in the relevant research databases (e.g., HeinOnline, Westlaw) and consult our research guides.

JACOB is the Law Library's catalog, which includes books and journals. Search JACOB to find books and journals -- not articles -- in the collection of the Jacob Burns Law Library.

Review our Tips for Searching to efficiently locate materials, including when to use the "Advanced Search" feature. And be sure to Ask Us or visit us at the reference desk. We're here to help you succeed!

Course Reserves

From the Law Library's Research Portal, click on Course Reserves. You can search by your GW Law professor's last name, the course name, or the course number to locate items for the class that she or he has placed on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the Library.

WorldCat Discovery

Worldcat Discovery is the best database to search for items that must be obtained through the interlibrary loan (ILL) system. Items are searched in over 70,000 libraries worldwide. When the item is located, click on "request from interlibrary loan" and the ILL request will auto-populate with item information.

WRLC Catalog

The Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) is a consortium of libraries (American, Catholic, Gallaudet, George Mason, George Washington, Georgetown, Howard, Marymount, and University of the District of Columbia) that includes the law and medical libraries at each institution. Find items in the collections of those libraries using a keyword, title, author, call number and/or subject search.

Use the Get It button and submit a CLS (Consortium Loan Service) request to obtain items from these libraries.  

HeinOnline Citation Finder

Use the HeinOnline Citation Finder to locate a document by citation in the research platform HeinOnline.