GW Law Library: Library Guides: Federal Communications Law: Primary Sources

Federal Statutes

United States Code (U.S.C.)
Official Code of federal laws, organized by subject matter. Revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. Title 47 - Telecommunications.
United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)
West's unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version and includes many research features. Title 47 - Telecommunications.
United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)
Lexis's unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version and includes many research features. Title 47 - Telecommunications.

Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
Codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. Title 47 Telecommunications includes Federal Communications Commission rules and regulations as well as those of other agencies.
eCFR
Currently updated unofficial version of the C.F.R. Title 47 (Telecommunications) includes Federal Communications Commission rules and regulations.
Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)
Official publication of federal agency rulemaking, including the Federal Communications Commission.

The Library's Case Law guide provides links and information on how to search for cases.

The Library's Federal Legislative History guide provides information on locating individual documents and complied legislative histories.

Federal Communications Commission decisions may consist of consent orders, proposed consent agreements, court orders, decisions and opinions.

Electronic Document Management System (EDOCS)
A database of Daily Digest entries for FCC documents posted to the FCC website since March 1996.
FCC Record
Compilation of decisions, reports, public notices and other documents of the FCC. Coverage: 1986 to date.
FCC’s Electronic Comment Filing System
"ECFS serves as the repository for official records in the FCC's docketed proceedings from 1992 to the present. The public can use ECFS to retrieve any document in the system, including selected pre-1992 documents."
Federal Communications Commission Reports, First Series
Decisions and Reports of the Federal Communications Commission of the United States. Coverage: 1934-1965.
Federal Communications Commission Reports, Second Series
Decisions and Reports of the Federal Communications Commission of the United States. Coverage: 1965-1986.

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)