GW Law Library: Library Guides: Case Law: Federal Cases

U.S. Supreme Court Cases

Search U.S. Supreme Court cases using any of the following resources:

The following reporters contain Supreme Court opinions:

United States Reports (U.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official reporter. Contains the final opinions of the United States Supreme Court.
Supreme Court Reporter (S. Ct.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
West's Supreme Court Reporter is an unofficial reporter but contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States along with headnotes, key numbers, and synopses.
United States Supreme Court Reports (L. Ed., L. Ed. 2d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis's United States Supreme Court Reports (also called Lawyer's Edition) is an unofficial reporter, but contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States along with headnotes, summaries, and annotations.

For more information on how to locate U.S. Supreme Court opinions, see the Supreme Court of the United States Research guide.

Search federal cases using any of the following resources:

The following reporters contain federal court opinions in PDF:

West's Federal Reporter (F., F.2d, F.3d, F.4th)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains decisions from the United States Court of Appeals.
West's Federal Supplement (F. Supp., F. Supp. 2d, F. Supp. 3d)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains opinions of the United States District Courts.
West's Federal Rules Decisions (F.R.D.)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains decisions issued by the United States District Courts concerning Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure that have not been designated for publication in the Federal Supplement.
West's Federal Appendix (F. App'x)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains decisions from the United States Courts of Appeals, beginning in 2001, that were not designated for publication in the Federal Reporter. Ceased publication in 2021.
Federal Claims Reporter (Fed. Cl.)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains decisions from the United States Court of Federal Claims and decisions of the United States Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit, and Supreme Court of the United States.
Federal Cases (F. Cas.)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains decisions of U.S. Circuit and District courts from 1789 to 1880.

Scholarly Articles:

Court Documents & Legal Memoranda:

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)