GW Law Library: Library Guides: District of Columbia (D.C.) Law: Executive Documents

Note: Historical Resesarch

This page discusses current sources.
Historical D.C. executive branch documents are discussed in the "Historical Research" section of this guide.

Selected Agency Documents

The D.C. Agency Directory provides links to Agency websites.

District of Columbia Register (DCR)
Contains the full text of selected agency decisions and orders, particularly the Contract Appeals Board (CAB), Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking (DISB), Office of Employee Appeals, Public Employee Relations Board, and Zoning Commission.

more... less...

In each D.C. Register issue, these documents are listed in the table of contents under "Actions of the Executive Branch and Independent Agencies."
Contract Appeals Board (CAB): Decisions
Criminal Code Reform Commission (CCRC)
An independent agency that began operation October 1, 2016; develops criminal code reform recommendations for the Council of the District of Columbia and Mayor.
D.C. Office of Zoning (DCOZ): Zoning Cases Dashboard
Information related to specific Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) or Zoning Commission (ZC) cases may be obtained through the Zoning Cases Dashboard.
Department of Buildings (DOB)
Established by "The Department of Buildings Establishment Act of 2020." The Department of Buildings' (DOB) responsibilities were previously handled by the Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs’ (DCRA).
Department of Employment Services (DOES): Administrative Hearings Division (AHD): Compensation Review Board Decisions & Orders
AHD conducts formal administrative hearings under two workers’ compensation benefit programs: DC Workers' Compensation Act of 1979, as amended, DC Code §32-1501 et seq. (private sector) & Subchapter XXIII of the DC Government Comprehensive Merit Personnel Act of 1978, as amended, DC Code §1-623.1 et seq. (public sector).
Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD): Rental Housing Commission Decisions
DHCD serves District residents through enforcement of the Rental Housing Act of 1985, as amended, in order to preserve and increase the supply of quality affordable housing. The Rental Housing Commission (RHC), an independent, quasi-judicial body, is charged with enforcement of the Act.
Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking (DISB): Administrative Actions
Previously: Department of Insurance and Securities Regulation (DCSEC). DISB ensures that D.C. residents have access to a wide choice of insurance, securities and banking products and services, and that they are treated fairly by the companies and individuals that provide these services.
Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP)
Protects the economic interests of residents, businesses, and visitors in the District of Columbia by licensing, and regulating businesses, and investigating and enforcing the Consumer Protection Procedures Act.
Metropolitan Police Department Written Directives
Written directives include orders and circulars that are statements of policy and interpretations of policy approved for release.
Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) Decisions
OAH is a neutral, impartial tribunal that holds hearings and decides appeals from government decisions. It was created in 2001 by the Council of the District of Columbia to provide centralized adjudication services for several District agencies.
Office of Contracting and Procurement: Contracts and Procurement Transparency Portal
A public clearinghouse for all information related to the District Government’s contracting and procurement efforts. Use filters and search capabilities to find data related to contracts, purchase orders, payments, solicitations, and forecasts.
Office of Employee Appeals (OEA) Decisions
OEA hears and resolves appeals filed by D.C. government employees involving specific personnel actions.
Office of Police Complaints (OPC): Complaint Examiner Decisions
OPC has the authority to receive complaints involving six types of police officer misconduct: harassment, inappropriate language or conduct, retaliation, unnecessary or excessive force, discrimination, and failure to identify.
Office of Tax and Revenue (OTR): Tax Law and Guidance
The Office of Tax and Revenue (OTR) is a part of the Office of the Chief Financial Officer for the District of Columbia.
Public Employee Relations Board (PERB) Decisions & Orders
PERB is an impartial, quasi-judicial, independent agency that resolves labor-management disputes between agencies of the D.C. government and labor organizations representing agency employees.

more... less...

The five-member Board was created pursuant to Section 501 of the District of Columbia Comprehensive Merit Personnel Act (CMPA), which became effective January 1,1980.

The members are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council of the District of Columbia.
Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia (PSCDC): Orders
PSCDC ensures that financially healthy electric, natural gas, and telecommunications companies provide safe, reliable, and quality services at reasonable rates for D.C. residential, business, and government customers.

Executive Office of the Mayor

Mayor's Orders (MOs)
Published in the DC Register.
MOs generally establish policy, direction, executive appointments, or delegation of authority for agencies under the authority of the Mayor.

more... less...

From Oct. 2009 to date, available through the "District of Columbia Municipal Regulations and District of Columbia Register" website.

Example:

M.O. 2011-169, Establishment of a Health and Human Services Integrated Case Management Initiative

M.O. = Mayor's Order
2011 = Year
169 = Sequential number
Establishment of a Health and Human Services Integrated Case Management Initiative = Subject of the order

To determine if a Mayor's Order is still in effect, searching the DC Municipal Regulations online using the MO "number" will show every subsequent Order referring to it.

Alternatively, contact the Office of Documents and Administrative Issuances (202) 727-5090 or email dcdocuments@dc.gov. The Office maintains a list of Mayor’s Orders that are no longer in effect.
Mayor's Memoranda
Published in the DC Register.
Mayor’s Memoranda are issued by the Mayor or agencies under the authority of the Mayor to direct the application or implementation of a policy, announce an action or event and provide guidance or clarify a previously stated policy or position.

more... less...

From Dec. 2017 to date, available through the "District of Columbia Municipal Regulations and District of Columbia Register" website.

Example:
Implementation of Hiring Controls
Mayor's Memorandum 2009-2

Implementation of Hiring Controls = subject of memorandum
2009 = year of issued
2 = sequential number
Office of the Attorney General Opinions
Previously, the "Office of the Corporation Counsel." The Attorney General for the District of Columbia is the District’s chief legal officer.

more... less...

The Office of the Attorney General (OAG) enforces the laws of the District, provides legal advice to the District’s government agencies, and promotes the interests of the District’s citizens.
Office of the Attorney General: Legal Advice to ANCs
Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANCs) are non-partisan, neighborhood bodies made up of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners.
Reorganization Plans
Under the Home Rule Act, the Mayor is given the authority to reorganize entities within the executive branch of the D.C. government. Reorganization plans are published in Title I, "Government Organization," Chapter 15, "Reorganization of the District Since the Establishment of Home Rule" of the D.C. Code.

Interstate Compacts

D.C. Code
The text of a compact or agreement is reprinted after the D.C. Code section containing the authorizing act, usually in a note.

DC Data

Open Data DC
Managed by the Enterprise Data team in the Office of the Chief Technology Officer (OCTO); promotes open data by proactively working with agency partners to identify, curate, distribute, and use city government open data.
Contracts and Procurement Transparency Portal
Created by the Office of Contracting and Procurement (OCP) as a public clearinghouse for all information related to the District Government’s contracting and procurement efforts.
The Lab @ DC
Uses scientific insights and methods to test and improve policies and provide timely, relevant and high-quality analysis to inform the District's initiatives.
SCOUT
An online consolidated database serving customers of the Department of Buildings and the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection. Use Scout to view permitting, inspection, licensing, enforcement and compliance information, and other District data. Create a password to access the website.
Surveyor Land Record Management System (SURDOCS)
Enables the public to search all digital land surveys. This tool is used to view all field survey records and surveyor plats.

Related Guides

"Chapter 1: Finding the Law" in Volume 1, The District of Columbia Practice Manual
(The District of Columbia Bar)
District of Columbia Resources
(Georgetown Law Library)
Guide to Law Online: U.S. Washington, D.C.
(Law Library of Congress)
District of Columbia State Agency Databases
(Government Documents Round Table (GODORT), American Library Association)
An annotated list, by subject, of D.C. government agency databases.

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)