Skip to main content
The Jacob Burns Law Library Research Guides Home The Jacob Burns Law Library Research Portal The Jacob Burns Law Library Website The Jacob Burns Law Library Library Guides Page The George Washington University Law School Website

Services @ the Jacob Burns Law Library

Burns Dispatch

Burns Dispatch is our not-for-profit, fee based service for reproduction or circulation of items in our collection.  Use Burns Dispatch to request items from the law library. 

In the D.C. Metro area or across country--we send books by UPS or we email photocopies as PDF attachments.  Copyright restrictions apply to requests for reproduction.

Email or send your request by fax to:

Interlibrary Loan

We loan circulating materials to other non-profit libraries, such as universities, schools and museums, for use by their patrons.  Restrictions may apply.  Check with your individual library for availability of interlibrary loan. 

We are a participating library in OCLC Shares.

Local Area Students

Please check with your institution's library for availability of materials.  If your librarian confirms that we are the only library who has the item in its collection, the librarian may request permission for you to use the library on a one-time basis; the request may be made in a letter of introduction that you bring with you on your visit to our library.  The letter must include your name, bibliographic information pertaining to the items needed, date of use and the librarian's name and contact information.  Use of our librarymust be for an academic legal research purpose only; the library may not be used in conjunction with a paid or unpaid position.  You will need to present your current student id from your institution.

Law students from American University and Georgetown University may use the law library upon presentation of their student photo id's.  We permit them to use the library for research purposes because of our reciprocal collection programs.

Out-of-Area Students

Out-of-area students:  You must have a letter of introduction from a librarian at your institution. The letter must include your name, bibliographic information pertaining to the items needed, dates of use and the librarian's name and contact information.  Use of our library must be for an academic legal research purpose; the library may not be used in conjunction with a paid or unpaid position.  You will need to present your current student id from your institution.  Prior to your visit, please ask your librarian to email to the Assistant Librarian for Public Services at dnorwood@law.gwu.edu to request access.

Students from OCLC Shares participating institutions:  One-day access for an academic legal research purpose will be permitted with a current student ID from a participating institution.  Students who wish to use the library longer than one day may request a letter of introduction from a librarian at their home institution.  The letter must include your name, bibliographic information pertaining to the items needed, dates of use and the librarian's name and contact information.  Use of our library must be for an academic legal research purpose; the library may not be used in conjunction with a paid or unpaid position.  Prior to your visit, please ask your librarian to email to the Assistant Librarian for Public Services at dnorwood@law.gwu.edu to request access.

Attorneys, Law Firms and Others

We encourage you to become a member of our Friends of the Jacob Burns Law Library to have access to our collection.  To borrow books from our collection, please submit requests through Burns Dispatch.

Passes for Bar Exam Study

Graduates of all other law schools must purchase a Bar Exam Library Pass to enter the library and to use our facilities.  A non-refundable fee purchases access to the library approximately 8 weeks prior to the date of the DC bar exam; access is not permitted during GW Law reading/exam periods.  The pass does not extend borrowing privileges and does not permit access to other University libraries.  A valid photo ID and proof of bar exam registration are required at the time of purchase.

Payment may be made by check or money order payable to GWU.  Debit and credit card payments are only accepted Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm.  For additional information, email circ@law.gwu.edu.