Science & Social Science Research
Locating science and social science analysis and data is the focus of this guide.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Recommended Starting Points
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic multi-disciplinary database providing citations with selected full text, for journal articles as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- ProQuest Research Library PlusMultidisciplinary database covering both scholarly sources and popular content.
Social Science Databases
- EconLitPremier source for economic literature in scholarly journals, books, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage includes: accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, and urban economics. Published by the American Economic Association.
- Environment & Energy (E & E) Online PublicationsProvides daily coverage of environmental and energy science, policy and markets. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, E&ENews PM, and E&ETV.
- GreenFILEProvides abstracts & indexing, with selected full text, to over 600 journal titles, drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- JSTORBack issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
- Military & Government CollectionProvides current news pertaining to all branches of the military; topics covered include environmental and energy science and social science issues.
- PAIS IndexCovers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
- Policy File IndexIncludes full-text report, paper, document and other sources on U.S. public policy research including over 75 public policy topics (both foreign and domestic) from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
- Project MuseArticles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Public Administration AbstractsCovers subjects such as administration, politics & economy, administrative structures & organization, public and social services, taxation, budgeting, and finance. Indexes important sources in the discipline, such as Journal of Public Economics and Public Administration Review.
U.S. Government Resources
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)Provides access to U.S. Dept. of Defense unclassified, selected full-text scientific and technical reports.
- National Academies PressPublishes reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.
- OSTI.GOVMaintained by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), this database includes journal articles, datasets, books, theses, technical reports, patents and conference papers funded by DOE from 1940s to date. Selected full text available.
- Science.govA gateway to U.S. government science information, providing access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies.
- USA.govA search engine, powered by Bing, that searches federal and state .gov, .mil and .edu government websites.
