Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GW Law Library
Research Guides

Science & Social Science Research

Locating science and social science analysis and data is the focus of this guide.

Quick Tips

Too Few Search Results

Too Many Search Results

Find Keywords

Keyword(s) are significant or descriptive word(s) or phrase(s) expressing the topic you plan to research.

Examples:  swine; "genetically engineered crops"; "modular reactors"

Search for discussions of your topic in government documents, scholarly, peer-reviewed journals or reliable, accurate news sources; compile a list of descriptive words, synonyms and acronyms. 

Suggested starting points:

Use Connectors

Connectors are words or symbols that establish relationships between keywords in a search.

In bibliographic databases, there are usually two search options: "basic" and "advanced":

  • "Basic" search provides a search box where keyword(s) or phrases and connectors (typed in ALLCAPS) may be entered. 
  • "Advanced" search provides a template with selection options provided for connectors and boxes available for typing keyword(s) or phrases.

Connectors for searching bibliographic databases & online catalogs:

  • AND = All keywords must appear somewhere in a bibliographic record (title, abstract (if available), or subject terms)
  • OR = At least one of the keywords must appear somewhere in a bibliographic record (title, abstract (if available) or subject terms).
  • NOT = A bibliographic record containing a keyword will not appear in search results.
  • Example:  regulat* AND microgrid*

When searching full text databases, it is recommended that for more effective searching, a different set of connectors be used:

Connectors for searching full text:

  • /s = Keywords appear in the same sentence in any order
  • /p = Keywords appear in the same paragraph in any order
  • /n = Keywords appear in any order within a specified number of words of each other
  • Examples:
    • glider /s emissions
    • glider /p emissions
    • glider /10 emissions

Truncation

Truncation refers to the act or process of shortening or reducing. 

When constructing a search, symbols can be attached to the end of keywords (truncating a word) to retrieve different forms of a word.