Research4Summer

(Law Library of Congress)
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

(Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives)

(U.S. Government Publishing Office, GovInfo database)

(U.S. Government Publishing Office, GovInfo database)

(Law Library of Congress)
A digitized collection of the official U.S. Statutes at Large beginning with Vol.1, 1789 - Vol. 64, 1951.

(U.S. Government Publishing Office, GovInfo database)
A digitized collection of the official U.S. Statutes at Large beginning with 1 Stat. (1789), 1st Congress, 1st Session.

(Law Library of Congress, Congress.gov)
By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. CRS reports may be periodically updated.

(Law Library of Congress)
An annotated collection of links to free online legal materials and pertinent resources in the Library of Congress catalog, organized by jurisdiction.

(National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL))
Provides bill tracking, summaries and analyses of bills or statutes by topic. Search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, to governor, etc.) or enter keywords to identify bills.

(Indiana University Bloomington, Maurer School of Law, Jerome Hall Law Library)
An index of state legislatures and online legislative history research guides.

(U.S. Government Publishing Office, GovInfo database)

(U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Office of the Federal Register)
An "unofficial" online version of the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.). The Office of the Federal Register updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. It is not updated in real-time, but you can find how current the material is at the top of all e-CFR web pages. Generally, the e-CFR is current within two business days.

(National Archives & Records Administration (NARA))
Search and view issues of the Federal Register which contains federal agency regulations.

(Federal eRulemaking Program Management Office, with the assistance of partner Federal agencies)
Documents available include comments and scientific or technical findings related to a federal agency rulemaking docket.

(Law Library of Congress)
An annotated collection of links to free online legal materials and pertinent resources in the Library of Congress catalog, organized by jurisdiction.

(Free Law Project)
A free legal research website containing selected legal opinions from federal and state courts.

Coverage varies by jurisdiction.

Selected federal and state court opinions.

Selected opinions from the US Supreme Court, US Courts of Appeals, US District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, and State Courts.

(Cornell Law School’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com)
Oyez (pronounced oh-yay) is a free law project providing recordings of oral arguments from October 1955 to present.

(U.S. Supreme Court)
Provides links to opinions, filings & rules, oral arguments, case documents, and history of the Court.

(U.S. Government Publishing Office, GovInfo database)
A collaborative effort between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. Coverage varies by jurisdiction.

(Free Law Project)
A free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. Coverage varies by jurisdiction.

Coverage varies by jurisdiction.

Selected federal and state court opinions.

(Law Library of Congress)
An annotated collection of links to free online legal materials and pertinent resources in the Library of Congress catalog, organized by jurisdiction.

(National Center for State Courts (NCSC))
Provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, intermediate appellate courts, and trial courts.

Selected federal cases, dockets and filings from U.S. District Courts and U.S. Courts of Appeal.

(Free Law Project)
A searchable collection of PACER documents and dockets.

"The Supreme Court’s docket system contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court. The docket provided here contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term. Users can search for the docket in a particular case by using a Supreme Court docket number, a case name, or other words or numbers included on a docket report."

(Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Links to the national federal rules and forms in effect, as well as local rules (which are required to be consistent with the national rules) prescribed by district courts and courts of appeal.

(University of Virginia Library)
Links to federal agency administrative decisions and documents.

(European Union (EU))
Online gateway to EU Law, providing the official and most comprehensive access to EU legal documents. It is available in all of the EU’s 24 official languages and is updated daily.

(Hauser Global Law School Program, New York University School of Law)
A free electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research.

(Law Library of Congress)
An annotated guide to sources of legal information available online for nations of the world.

(United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library)
A guide on how to locate UN documents.

(United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library)
Includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.

(United Nations, Treaty Section, Office of Legal Affairs)
Online search engine for treaties deposited at the United Nations.

"Designed to help first-year law students master the fundamental Bluebook citation rules that will be needed in legal research and writing courses and in legal practice. It can also act as a Bluebook refresher for other law students, clerks, attorneys, judges, and paralegals."

(Peter W. Martin, Legal Information Institute (LII), Cornell Law School)

(GW Law Library)

Dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.

(University of Cardiff, UK)
Search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.

(UC San Diego Library)
Lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified department, agency, office, program or publication.

(Cornell Law School, Legal Information Institute (LII))
"Community-built, freely available legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts."

(GW Law Library)

(Law Library of Congress)