Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GW Law Library
Research Guides

Research4Summer

Access Icon Key

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
Print Resource Library Collection
Website Website
Subscription Database  (Law School Only) Subscription Database 
(Law School Only)
Subscription Database  (University-wide) Subscription Database 
(University-wide)
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) Bloomberg Law
(Password Required)
Lexis (Password Required) Lexis
(Password Required)
Westlaw Westlaw
(Password Required)

Bloomberg Law

Scope of Access

No summer access restrictions.  This access is automatic (no registration required) and is unlimited and unrestricted. 

All graduates have continuous, access for six months following graduation, so Spring 2022 graduates will have access through November 30, 2022.  Access includes use during summer employment* and post-graduation job searching. You must have an active Bloomberg Law account prior to graduation.  

Log on to Bloomberg Law at http://www.bloomberglaw.com

Bloomberg Law combines comprehensive coverage of primary legal authority, both federal and state, with company and market information, financial data, news, and exceptional access to court dockets and filings.

* Bloomberg Law advises students to ask their employer about any policy the firm or organization may have regarding the use of student accounts for firm/organizational business. 

Accounts

To obtain Bloomberg Law credentials, send an email request to electronicservices@law.gwu.libanswers.com.  The email should include full name, @law email address, GWID, graduation year, and identify which service(s) access is being requested.

Support Throughout the Summer

The Bloomberg Law Representative for GW Law, Will Thompson, wthompson@bloombergindustry.com, is available to you during the summer for support and training.

Students also have access to 24/7 customer support for research assistance at 1-888-560-BLAW or blawhelp@bna.com.

Lexis

LexisNexis Summer Access

Lexis is providing full access to Lexis+® through students’ law school ID throughout the months of May, June, July and August.  Continued access includes tools, search history and the same exclusive content and practical guidance they have relied on all year long.  Whether clerking, interning or working at a firm, students can use their law school access.*

LexisNexis Graduate Access

In addition to summer access for 1Ls and 2Ls, graduating 3Ls have continued access to Lexis upon graduation to keep their skills up to date and use for job and interview preparation. The Graduate Program gives extended access to Lexis+ to spring graduates via their law school IDs through December 31, 2022. This ID also grants them access to the Graduate Home Page and gives them a graduation gift detailed in this flyer: 

The transition from a regular law school ID to a graduate ID happens on July 10, 2022.

Support Throughout the Summer

GW's LexisNexis Representative, Elizabeth Hopkins, elizabeth.hopkins@lexisnexis.com, is available during the summer for training and support. Feel free to contact her early regarding your summer research goals. You also have access to 24/7 customer support for help with Lexis+ or research questions at 1-800-45-LEXIS (53947).

*Employers may prefer summer associates use a firm provided ID for client work. 

Westlaw

Non-Graduating Students

You can use Thomson Reuters products, including Westlaw and Practical Law, over the summer for non-commercial research. You can turn to these resources to gain understanding and build confidence in your research skills, but you cannot use them in situations where you are billing a client.  Examples of permissible uses for your academic password include the following:

  • Summer coursework
  • Research assistant assignments
  • Law Review or Journal research
  • Moot Court research
  • Non-Profit work
  • Clinical work
  • Externship sponsored by the school

You do not have to do anything to gain access to these tools over the summer. If you have any questions, please contact your Academic Account Manager

Graduating Students

You have access to Thomson Reuters products, including Westlaw and Practical Law, for six months after graduation by registering for “Grad Elite” access here. “Grad Elite” access gives you 60-hours of usage on these products per month to gain understanding and build confidence in your research skills. While you cannot use it in situations where you are billing a client, Thomson Reuters encourages you to use these tools to build your knowledge of the law and prepare for your bar exam.

Support Throughout the Summer

GW's Westlaw Account Manager, Regina Wiggins, regina.wiggins@thomsonreuters.com, is available to you during the summer for training and support.  Access to 24/7 customer support for research assistance is available at 1-800-850-WEST.