Legislation and Regulation
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Reference Department
Related Research Guides
Study Aids
The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
A Guide to Federal Agency Rulemaking, 6th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Examples & Explanations: Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, 2d ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Legislation and Regulation in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Legislation and Statutory Interpretation, 3rd ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Legislative Law and Process in a Nutshell, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Mastering Legislation, Regulation, and Statutory Interpretation, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Mastering Statutory Interpretation, 2d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Rulemaking: How Government Agencies Write Law and Make Policy, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses.
Principles of Administrative Law, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Administrative Law, 4th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying topics on administrative law, regulations, and statutory interpretation.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
Administrative Law:
- Administrative Law: Outline
- This link opens in a new window
- Administrative Law: Lessons
- This link opens in a new window
- Basic Structure of the Federal Administrative Procedure Act: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Agency Decisions and Orders: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Researching Federal Administrative Regulations: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Commencement of Rulemaking: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Rulemaking: Federal Register and CFR: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
Statutory Law:
- Statutory Interpretation: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Forms of Federal Statutory Publication: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Introduction to State and Federal Statutes: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Finding Statutes: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window
- Updating Federal and State Statutes: Lesson
- This link opens in a new window