Labor & Employment Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Employment & Labor Law Databases
The following databases contain federal and state laws, regulations, court and agency decisions, as well as selected secondary sources, such as treatises, handbooks and other publications.
- Bloomberg Law: Labor & Employment Practice Center
- Lexis: Practice Area: Labor & Employment Law
- Westlaw: Practice Areas: Employment
- PLI Plus: Practice Area: Employment and Labor
- VitalLaw: Labor & Employment Law
- HeinOnline: Labor and Employment: The American WorkerThe collection includes legislative histories of major legislation, briefs from Supreme Court cases, accounts of labor riots, and reports on working conditions.
Federal Statutes
- United States Code (U.S.C.)Official Code of federal laws, organized by subject matter. Revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements.
- United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)West's unofficial version of the United States Code, which includes many research features.
- United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)Lexis's unofficial version of the United States Code, which includes many research features.
For additional information on researching federal laws, consult the Library's Federal Statutory Law guide.
Federal Regulations
- Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)Codification of final rules published in the Federal Register.
For additional information on researching federal regulations, consult the Library's Federal Regulations guide.
Federal & State Court Decisions
- Case Law(GW Law Library)
Provides links to databases containing federal and state court decisions. - Supreme Court of the United States(GW Law Library)
Provides links to databases containing US Supreme Court decisions.
Federal Agency Decisions
- Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)Responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related conditions, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
- Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA)Protects rights and facilitates stable relationships among federal agencies, labor organizations, and employees while advancing an effective and efficient government through the administration of the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Statute, 5 U.S.C. ยงยง 7101-7135.
- Labor Arbitration Awards & Decisions
- National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)The NLRB's Administrative Law Judges docket, hear, settle, and decide unfair labor practice cases nationwide, operating through offices in Washington, New York, and San Francisco.
- Occupational Safety & Health Review Commission (OSHRC)Provides adjudication of work-related safety and health disputes between employers, employees or their representatives, and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Labor.
- U.S. Dept. of Labor Administrative Law Judge DecisionsThe Office of Administrative Law Judges (OALJ) is the administrative tribunal for the U.S.Department of Labor.