Labor & Employment Law
The focus of this guide is federal labor & employment law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
-
Employment Discrimination Law and Litigation
-
Labor And Employment Arbitration
-
Labor and Employment Law
-
Larson on Employment Discrimination
-
National Labor Relations Act: Law & Practice
-
Restatement of the Law, Employment Law
-
Wages & Hours: Law and Practice
-
VitalLaw: Labor & Employment Law: Treatises & Explanations(Wolters Kluwer)
Practice Materials
-
Practice Advisor: Labor & Employment
-
Labor & Employment Practice Center: Practical Guidance
-
Practical Law: Labor & Employment
-
PLI Plus: Practice Skills: Employment and Labor(Practising Law Institute (PLI))
-
Employment Law Course Study Collection"This is a collection of Practical Law resources about topics that are commonly covered by Employment Law courses. Unless noted, the resources in this collection are Practice Notes, which provide in-depth coverage of specific legal issues written for practicing attorneys."
-
Labor Law Course Study Collection"This is a collection of Practical Law resources about topics that are commonly covered by Labor Law courses. Unless noted, the resources in this collection are Practice Notes, which provide in-depth coverage of specific legal issues written for practicing attorneys."
Current News
-
Daily Labor Report(Bloomberg Law)
Covers federal and state news and cases. Also offers practitioner insights. -
Labor, Employment & Benefits News(Bloomberg Law)
Covers labor, employment and employee benefits news. -
Employment News(Law360)
Covers current news on employment matters, as well as cases, legislative initiatives, regulatory developments, and personnel moves. -
Labor & Employment Law: News & Commentary(VitalLaw, Wolters Kluwer)
Provides relevant news in the Labor & Employment Law Practice Area. Register a username and password to sign up for newsletter alerts.
Blogs
Researchers can locate additional blogs using Justia's Blawg Directory.
-
JOTWELL: WorklawA space where legal academics identify, celebrate, and discuss the best new scholarship relevant to the law; organized in sections, each reflecting a subject area of legal specialization.
-
Workplace Prof BlogA member of the Law Professor Blogs, LLC, a network of legal blogs edited primarily by law professors.
Indexes to the Legal Literature
-
Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)(HeinOnline)
Provides citations to current law journal articles. -
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)(HeinOnline)
Provides citations to journal articles with selected full text. -
Legal SourceProvides citations to journal articles with selected full text.
-
LegalTracProvides citations to journal articles with selected full text.
Full Text Law Journal Databases
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields.
Tip: To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links, add "george washington," and "Save."
-
HeinOnline: Law Journal Library: Advanced Search
-
Lexis: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
-
vLexJustisFull-text access to selected journals from 140 countries. Updated daily.
-
Westlaw: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
-
Digital Commons Network: Law CommonsFree, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
-
SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkComposed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, making available scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.