U.S. Intelligence Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Journals
Search the specialized journals below, or use a periodicals index or other database to locate articles on a topic. See our Journal Articles Research guide for more information on how to locate an article by citation, author name, or topic.
- International Journal of Intelligence and CounterintelligenceUse the "Search for articles within this journal" box to locate articles.
- RAIL: The Journal of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence & LawFrom Fastcase Premium
Articles Databases
Search the following databases for scholarly articles and reports:
(For a list of all databases available to GW Law faculty and students, see http://law.gwu.libguides.com/electronicresources/databases)
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887. - AULIMP
This link opens in a new window
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Covers significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in English-language military and aeronautical periodicals. - U.S. Declassified Documents Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries. - Digital Commons (BePress)
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. - Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and links to articles available in various articles databases at GW. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains historical and current collections of legal documents including a retrospective Law Journal Library. - International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. - JSTOR: Security Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Search for book chapters and articles on many security studies topics, from arms control to Westphalian sovereignty - Legal Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for law journals. Includes all of the content from Index to Legal Periodicals plus additional titles. - LegalTrac
- This link opens in a new window
Index of articles in law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers (1980 to date). Covers U.S., British Commonwealth, and E.U. law-related topics. - Lexis+: Law Reviews & Journals
This link opens in a new window
- Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and selected full-text coverage for hundreds of journals and periodicals that offer news and analysis regarding the U.S. military. - National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 24 thematic collections. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus access only for GW Law patrons. - Privacy and Data Security Practice Center
This link opens in a new window
Incorporates all the content contained in Privacy & Security Law Report plus a number of new features, including full text of cases, and state and federal privacy statutes and regulations. - ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database
- This link opens in a new window
includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. - ProQuest Research Library Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals - SSRN
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) provides abstracts and some full-text working papers or accepted papers. One eLibrary is the National Security & Foreign Relations Law eJournal. - Westlaw: Law Reviews, Texts & Bar Journals
This link opens in a new window
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- Law of Electronic Surveillance
- This link opens in a new window
By Carr, Bellia & Creutz. Describes all aspects of surveillance laws and processes. See Chapter 9. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance - Law of the Internet
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(CCH). By George B. Delta and Jeffrey H. Matsuura - Law of the Internet
- This link opens in a new window
(Matthew Bender). By F. Lawrence Street; Mark P. Grant - National Security Intelligence, 2d
- This link opens in a new window
By Loch K. Johnson. Covers the three primary missions of intelligence: information collection and analysis, counterintelligence, and covert action, before moving on to explore the wider dilemmas posed by the existence of secret government organizations in open, democratic societies. - National Security investigations and Prosecutions
- This link opens in a new window
By Kris & Wilson. Presents the law governing, and related to, national security investigations (NSIs). An NSI is an investigation conducted by the United States government to acquire information about foreign threats to the national security, e.g., international terrorism. - Proskauer on Privacy: A Guide to Privacy and Data Security Law in the Information Age
- This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 7. The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act and Chapter 8. Privacy and Homeland Security - The U.S. Intelligence Community, 7th
- This link opens in a new window
The seventh edition has been fully revised to include a new chapter on the major issues confronting the intelligence community, including secrecy and leaks, domestic spying, and congressional oversight, as well as revamped chapters on signals intelligence and cyber collection, geospatial intelligence, and open sources. - Wiretapping & Eavesdropping
- This link opens in a new window
By Fishman & McKenna. Provides critical information and tactics for criminal and civil practitioners in every type of situation where internet, computer, (analog, digital and cellular) phone or other monitored and recorded evidence issues arise.
CRS Reports
Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports provide more information about national security topics. While not all CRS Reports are released publicly, you may find many in the databases below.
For example:
- A Shift in the International Security Environment: Potential Implications for Defense, Dec. 3, 2020
- Intelligence Community Spending: Trends and Issues, updated November 6, 2019
The CRS also publishes a series of brief "Defense Primers" covering both defense and intelligence-related topics.
- Bloomberg Law
- This link opens in a new window
Reports are displayed in reverse chronological order. - Congress.gov
- This link opens in a new window
In 2018, Congress passed a law directing the creation of this site and ending the legal requirement prohibiting CRS from providing its products to the public. - Federation of American Scientists (general topics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to CRS reports on general national security topics. - Federation of American Scientists (intelligence)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to CRS reports on Intelligence and related topics. - HeinOnline's CRS Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports are listed alphabetically by title. - ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CRS reports from 1916- .