Tax Law
A guide to federal tax law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Reference Department
Study Aids
The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
-
Examples and Explanations for Federal Income Tax, 8th ed.
by
Offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. -
Federal Income Taxation, 15th ed.
by
While focusing on the present income tax, the text provides an explanation of the often-discussed consumption tax and contrasts the two taxes in a note at the end of the volume. -
Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Stockholders in a Nutshell, 9th ed.
by
Focuses on the corporation as a taxable entity and tracks the corporate life cycle from incorporation through complete liquidation. -
Federal Income Taxation of Estates, Trusts, and Beneficiaries in a Nutshell, 3d ed.
by
Explains federal income taxation of estates, trusts, and beneficiaries, focusing on key provisions of the Code and regulations as well as judicial decisions and administrative rulings. -
Federal Income Taxation of Individuals in a Nutshell, 9th ed.
by
Summarizes the U.S. federal income tax law for individuals, defines income, and identifies the different types of deductions available to a taxpayer. -
Principles of Federal Income Taxation, 8th ed.
by
Includes analysis of cases and concepts from the leading casebooks on federal income tax, complete with explanations, diagrams and flow charts. -
Principles of Tax Policy, 3d ed.
by
Explains the essential building blocks of the American tax system, including the changes adopted in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and rising inflation in 2022. -
Understanding Federal Income Taxation, 7th ed.
by
The book consists of forty-two chapters with each chapter addressing a basic topic in individual income taxation. Each chapter provides a detailed explanation of the interpretation and application of relevant Internal Revenue Code provision(s) and Treasury Regulations as well as summaries of leading cases and administrative rulings.
Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying specific topics.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
-
Lessons by Subject Outline - Tax LawSearch the outline to locate tax related CALI Lessons.
Searching JACOB
Locate additional tax law materials in JACOB, the Library's online catalog, using these subject links:
- Corporations -- Taxation -- United States
- Income tax -- Law and Legislation -- United States
- Tax Courts -- United States
- Tax Credits -- United States
- Tax Evasion
- Tax Exemption -- Law and Legislation
- Tax Havens
- Tax Incentives -- United States
- Taxation -- Law and Legislation -- United States
- Taxpayer Compliance -- United States
- United States Internal Revenue Service
Dictionaries
-
West's Tax Law DictionaryProvides definitions for important tax terms, words, and phrases commonly used in modern American tax law as well as cross-references to IRC material and Treasury regulations.
-
Black's Law Dictionary 12th ed. byThis comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms.
Related Guides
-
Federal Tax Research: Guide to Materials and Techniques, 11th ed.(Foundation Press)
-
Tax Management Portfolio, Portfolio 100-3rd: Legal Authorities in U.S. Federal Tax Matters — Research and Interpretation(Bloomberg Law)
