Family Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Mary Kate Hunter
Introduction
Family law encompasses a variety of subjects including marriage, divorce, child custody, child support, adoption, and property division. Most issues concerning family law are matters of state law. Treatises and other secondary sources on family law are good starting points for research, but it's also prudent to consult state specific resources.
Casebooks
Modern Family Law by 
This link opens in a new window
Children and the Law, Doctrine, Policy, and Practice by - This link opens in a new window
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses.
The Law of Domestic Relations in the United States, 3d by - This link opens in a new window
Study Aids
The GW Law Library now provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides. When creating individual user accounts, GW Law students should use their GW Law email addresses.
The following study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions can be found in the Law Library stacks:
Family Law in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Family Law: Examples and Explanations by - This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Understanding Family Law by - This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Understanding Juvenile Law by
- This link opens in a new window
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying specific topics.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
- Family Law Outline
- This link opens in a new window
- Family Law Lessons
- This link opens in a new window
Acronyms & Abbreviations
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This link opens in a new window
- Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations: A Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students
- This link opens in a new window
- International Citator and Research Guide: The Greenbook
- This link opens in a new window
- World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations
- This link opens in a new window
