U.S. Environmental Law
A basic guide to U.S. environmental law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Legal Databases
- VitalLaw: Energy & Environment
This link opens in a new window
- Lexis: Environmental Law
This link opens in a new window
- PLI Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Practising Law Institute’s research database which provides online access to the full collection of PLI Press publications, including treatises, course handbooks, and journals. - Westlaw: Energy & Environment
This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary Databases
GW Gelman Library provides access to numerous subject databases that can be used to locate articles on environmental law, policy, science, technology, engineering, and related topics.
Recommended Starting Points:
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, with some full text, to scholarly, multi-disciplinary journal articles. - ProQuest Research Library Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals.
Other Subject Databases:
- ABI/Inform Complete Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers business and industry-specific topics. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals. - Business Source Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with selected full text to articles from scholarly business journals. - EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the economic literature in scholarly journals (including book reviews), books, dissertations, and working papers. Published by the American Economic Association. - Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from newspapers and other business, financial and company publications. - GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, on the environment and related disciplines. Some full text included. - GEOBASE (Engineering Village)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature on the earth sciences, including environmental sciences. - Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military. - ProQuest Natural Sciences Database
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a suite of ProQuest environmental databases. - Web of Science (WOS)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes several citation indices covering research journals in the sciences and social sciences. Permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).
Websites
U.S. Government Agencies:
- Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ)
This link opens in a new window
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA): Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE)
- This link opens in a new window
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
- This link opens in a new window
- National Park Service (NPS)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration (EIA): Environment
- This link opens in a new window
(energy-related emissions data & environmental analyses) - U.S. Department of Justice. Environment and Natural Resources Division (ENRD)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (FWS)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Forest Service
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP)
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)
- This link opens in a new window
Organizations | Trade Associations | Nonprofits:
- American Bar Association. Section on Environment, Energy and Resources (SEER)
- This link opens in a new window
- Association of Clean Water Administrators (ACWA)
- This link opens in a new window
- Center for Biological Diversity (CBD)
- This link opens in a new window
- Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)
- This link opens in a new window
- Earth Law Center
- This link opens in a new window
- Environmental Council of the States (ECOS)
- This link opens in a new window
- Environmental Law Institute (ELI)
- This link opens in a new window
- Foundation for Natural Resources and Energy Law (FNREL)
- This link opens in a new window
- GW Climate and Health Institute
- This link opens in a new window
- National Academies Press: Environment and Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- National Agricultural Law Center
- This link opens in a new window
- National Association of Clean Air Agencies (NACAA)
- This link opens in a new window
- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL): Environment and Natural Resources
- This link opens in a new window
- Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
- This link opens in a new window
- Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI)
- This link opens in a new window
- Resources for the Future (RFF)
- This link opens in a new window
- Tribal Climate Change Guide: Tribal Adaption Plans
- This link opens in a new window
(University of Oregon) - Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS)
- This link opens in a new window