U.S. Environmental Law
A basic guide to U.S. environmental law research.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Selected Environmental Laws
- Clean Air Act (CAA), codified generally as 42 U.S.C. §§7401-7671
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Clean Water Act (CWA), codified generally at 33 U.S.C. §§1251-1387
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), codified generally at 42 U.S.C. §§9601-9675
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA), codified generally at 42 U.SC. §§11001-11050
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Endangered Species Act (ESA), 16 U.S.C. §§1531-1544
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA), codified generally at 7 U.S.C. §§136-136y
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), codified generally at 42 U.S.C. §§4321-4347
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA), codified generally at 42 U.S.C. §§300f-300j-25
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Solid Waste Disposal Act (SWDA)/Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), codified generally at 42 U.S.C. §§6901-6992k
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA), codified generally at 15 U.S.C. §§2601-2697
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled Legislative Histories
- ProQuest Legislative Insight
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides 18,000 complete federal legislative histories with access to all related full text publications. PDF. Coverage starts with 1st Congress (1789). - HeinOnline U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes legislative histories of selected environmental laws. - Legislative Histories
- This link opens in a new window
Includes legislative histories of selected environmental laws. - Arnold & Porter Legislative Histories
- This link opens in a new window
Includes legislative histories of selected environmental laws.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS research attorneys write concise, objective reports on current legislative issues. Some reports are periodically updated.
To locate a CRS report or the most recent version of a CRS report, search:
- Bloomberg Law
- Congress.gov: CRS Reports
- HeinOnline
- ProQuest Congressional
Selected Reports:
- Methane and Other Air Pollution Issues in Natural Gas Systems
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Management of the Colorado River: Water Allocations, Drought, and the Federal Role
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Related Guides
- Federal Legislative History
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library) - Federal Statutory Law
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library) - Bluebook and Citation Resources
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library)