GW Law Library: Library Guides: Online Databases, Books, Journals, & Articles at the Burns Law Library: News & Current Awareness

Questions?

If you have any problems or questions related to the Burns Law Library's online resources, please contact us at electronicservices@law.gwu.libanswers.com.

Burns Law Library News & Current Awareness Sources

Bloomberg Law News This link opens in a new window
BloombergLaw.com account holders only. A wide array of current-awareness newsletters covering different areas of law, including topics from antitrust, business and finance, criminal law, environment, tax, labor, health care, and more. Email updates are available.
Law360 This link opens in a new window
News articles report on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization. "Track Law Firms and Companies" allows the user to search or browse by law firm or company. Law360 content includes: Insurance Authority Enterprise, Tax Authority Enterprise, Pulse Enterprise, Employment Authority Enterprise, and Law360 Complete. Law360 content excludes: Law360 UK Sections and Law360 Real Estate Authority.

Daily email alerts available for each practice area. Links embedded in email alerts only work when user is behind a Law School IP address.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of select legal newspapers.
LAW.COM This link opens in a new window
Access the latest legal news and analysis across ALM national and regional publications, including The American Lawyer, The National Law Journal, Legal Tech News, New York Law Journal, and Supreme Court Brief. User registration is not needed to browse subscription content, but users wishing to subscribe to news briefings (such as Legal Education: Ahead of the Curve) or to create a customized news feed on Law.com Radar must register and sign in.
GW Law access only; Off-campus access via GW Law proxy.

Alerting Services

Some of the electronic resources subscribed to by the Law Library include "alert" features, which help users maintain awareness of current developments within a particular subject area.

Generally users may have such alerts delivered to any of their email accounts, but in order to access the content linked within a message the user must access it:

through a computer on the Law School network, or
through the proxy server if off-campus

Bloomberg Law News This link opens in a new window
BloombergLaw.com account holders only. A wide array of current-awareness newsletters covering different areas of law, including topics from antitrust, business and finance, criminal law, environment, tax, labor, health care, and more. Email updates are available.
VitalLaw (Wolters Kluwer. formerly Cheetah) This link opens in a new window
A broad legal research database covering primary and secondary materials from Wolters Kluwer, including legislation, regulations, case law, administrative decisions, forms, and commentary related to many areas, including business & management, government contracts, health, human resources, labor, intellectual property, and tax. Note (5/4/21): If you have problems with the SmartChart feature, try using the GW VPN or an incognito browser window.
University-wide access. Off-campus access via GW Libraries proxy server.
Law360 This link opens in a new window
News articles report on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization. "Track Law Firms and Companies" allows the user to search or browse by law firm or company. Law360 content includes: Insurance Authority Enterprise, Tax Authority Enterprise, Pulse Enterprise, Employment Authority Enterprise, and Law360 Complete. Law360 content excludes: Law360 UK Sections and Law360 Real Estate Authority.

Daily email alerts available for each practice area. Links embedded in email alerts only work when user is behind a Law School IP address.
Tax Notes This link opens in a new window
Access to "Tax Notes," "Tax Notes International," "State Tax Notes," "Tax Notes Today," "State Tax Today," "Worldwide Tax Daily," and "Highlights and Documents."
University-wide license; First-time users must create individual account while connected to GWU network; Returning users log in using email address and password created during their initial use.

GW Gelman Library News Sources

Digital News Subscriptions
Access to The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal is available through GW Libraries Digital News Subscriptions. More information about these news subscriptions including access instructions is available on the GW Libraries website.

Note: Content and coverage information for the resources in this list is available through the "Articles & Databases" link on the Gelman Library web site.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
Access World News (International Edition) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 700 international sources. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
CQ.com This link opens in a new window
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
African American Newspapers, Series I (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
Vanderbilt TV News Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, as well as special news-related programming. Streaming online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The financial newspaper of record, offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance, as well as current events.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.
Washington Post (Historical,1877-1999) This link opens in a new window
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue -- cover to cover -- in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
University-wide access; Off-campus access through GW Libraries proxy.